New Goals and New Steps

So it’s been a mixed bag here lately. On the good side, I’m applying for a new internship. The whole secret thing I was talking about? I’d tried to get on as an editorial assistant at the place I was interning at. I didn’t get rejected, but they took 3 months just to tell me they wanted the large picture edits in line like copy edits rather than in comment boxes. That method is not only not the industry standard way of doing it, but quite cumbersome. Combined with something a friend who’s heavily involved in romance communities said, I’m not pursuing that place anymore. A lot of factors went into the decision, but I don’t think I’d be happy working for them. Ultimately, I need to both respect my boss and feel they’re getting their work done in an efficient manner and with clear communication skills. Many unresponded to emails, lack of follow through, and unclear expectations pretty much killed it for me. On the good side again, the intern coordinator I worked with there will write me a recommendation letter, and I have every expectation I should be interning again in fairly short order. So while I’m annoyed at the time spent waiting on them, other changes have made new, better opportunities open up.

See, here’s the thing: Any position, be it an internship or paid work, will have to be online and with a flexible schedule. I simply can’t give up the reliability of my dayjob to commute 3 hours a day to NYC to be a glorified secretary, which is what the entry level positions at a lot of houses are. This leaves certain agencies, certain publishers, and freelancing. I think after this next internship, if I can’t get a full position at an acceptable place, I may just hang out a freelance shingle. Content development and refinement is far more enjoyable to me than copy editing, and while I can do CE work, it’s not what inspires me. There’s a madness and a method in finding the Right stories, and I know I can do it.

Sooner or later, it WILL happen. It will take 5 years from whenever I start getting paid work for me to give up a day job, most likely. But this? Is a good thing. It gives me time to get to know more people.

I’ll be at ALA Midwinter under my RL name, speaking of. Are any of you going? It’s only a few blocks from my place, so I couldn’t resist. If you’re going, let me know, we’ll meet up and hang out! I’m only going the weekend days, due to my dayjob, but it should still be enjoyable!

Also, I’m planning on going to BEA in May. I’m not sure how many days, yet, but I’ll at least go for the reader day, bare minimum. If KT comes up for the whole week, I’ll join her.

Meanwhile? I’m going to keep plugging along. If it’s meant to happen, I’ll make it happen.

Leave a Reply

