November 25 #Writemotivation and #Nanowrimo update

Ugh. This last week did NOT go according to plan. It was a combination of things, but basically from last Monday to now, I managed about 2100 words total for the week. NOT what I had planned at all, and frustrating. I was banging my head on a plot wall. I hit the point where things started coming together and tensions should be rising, revelations had, etc, and it just wasn’t working. I tried to push through, figuring I just hit the week 2 wall late (it’s happened before). I finally realized Thursday the plot was snarled. Not broken, mind you, but there were elements twisted up and not working. KT and I bashed it out, mostly, so I fiddled more and sat my character down for tea in a drabble. And it was still missing something, until yesterday Owen was able to figure out the other aspect that wasn’t quite working just from me describing it.. I love them both, seriously. So hopefully this week will go better.

Granted, this week has it’s own challenges. Thanksgiving is one, since we’re going to Owen’s brother’s fiancee’s parent’s place. Luckily, we talked his mom into driving, so I don’t have to stress so much about getting there on time. I do have to make a pie and a turkey breast, but that’s easy enough. Tonight is a bloody wash, I got off work late thanks to a combination of a screaming child on the client’s end and a really bad interpreter. I really need to just learn Spanish more fluently, then I wouldn’t NEED to get the interpreters. Most are great, don’t get me wrong. But sometimes, I think I understand more Spanish than they do, and it’s really frustrating. I told my boss, when he told me I was getting a lot of good karma for this call, “Yeah, well, I must have a few murders from a past life to make up for the way this is going!”.

Ah well, this is why they invented chocolate and rum. Possibly together. 😛 And we’ll just pretend this went up yesterday, oops! 😉

Leave a Reply

