#Writemotivation and #Nanowrimo update

So far, decent. I’m a little behind where I wanted to be, as this weekend wasn’t the productive one I’d hoped for. Still, I managed to get more written during the week than I’d anticipated, so it’s not all bad. IF I can do that again this week, I should hit 25k either today or tomorrow. The total project count over there is actually about 1k above the nano count, as I had about 1k from the plotting stage already written where I was playing with the voice when I’d first had the idea. I’m pleased with how the story is going, and I’ve layered in a few elements along the way that are tying in quite nicely. It’s sort of The Uglies meets Phantom of the Opera crossed with 2001: A Space Odyssey. I’m cautiously optimistic about the level of edits it’ll need (As in, I know I’ll need to tighten and adjust certain aspects, and weave some of the “Oh, hey! This happens because REASONS!” that my subconscious likes to pull on me in the middle of Nano), so we’ll see.

My OWM story went up last Friday, but I suspect no one’s really paying attention, as it’s November and who has time? I’ll hawk it more next month. And if you’re curious, no, those don’t count in my nano count.

So how’s everyone else’s nano going? Have you consumed your weight in caffeine and sugar yet? For those rebellious (or count-phobic, hehe), how’s your month going? Anything good/new/interesting in your worlds?

6 Comments

  1. November 11, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    Nano is rocky for me this month, but at least I’m back on track! I hope. I have not yet consumed my weight in sugar and caffeine, and the only reason I haven’t is because of extreme self-discipline, lol.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 12, 2013 at 6:27 am

      Yay for getting back on track! And I’m impressed, lol! I don’t have that much restraint most of the time. 😉

  2. K.T. Hanna said,

    November 12, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    You know how much I love this story. Like LOVE it. I can’t wait to see it edited. Also – I don’t think it’s going to need your usual level of edits. It feels fleshed out and mostly will need tightening and tidying. But that’s just mE!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 13, 2013 at 6:18 am

      I hope you’re right. LOL! ❤ I do need to go add more details in, mostly sensory and description, but that's easy enough to fiddle in edits. And yeah, there are some bits where her thoughts meander off too much that I'll need to tighten, but I'm cautiously optimistic. ❤

  3. November 12, 2013 at 8:46 pm

    oh, i love the way you described your story concept. that’s gotta be fun to write. the uglies in space. nice.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 13, 2013 at 6:20 am

      Thanks! It is! I’ve always had a weakness for space-scifi. I love taking things from our current time and extrapolating, “OK, in 50-100 years, what could this do?”.


Leave a Reply

