September 9 #Writemotivation update

1. The usual. Walk, read, crits. Walked all last week, and it was gorgeous! Bright and cheery and sunny and just cool enough to be enjoyable. Not looking forward to winter, which feels like it’s coming all too fast, but I’ll deal. Looked over the short story I’ve had lingering in my inbox, and didn’t see anything to crit about it. This doesn’t mean there’s nothing, just that my brain was too tired when I tried, so I’m going to look at it again soon as I have a chance to make sure. πŸ˜‰ Also worked with KT this weekend on something for her, just a quick once over on something I’d already read through a couple times. Reading wise, 4 down for the month, all published. Not a bad pace. πŸ™‚

2. OWM- September’s story is about ready to go. I’m going first due to the person who was supposed to having a chaotic (heh, both pun and putting it mildly.) weekend and not having time to work on hers. No big, I was almost done anyway. This forces me to quit fiddling with it and get it done.

3. Be more social online.- This weekend was highly social with one person, but I made an effort to read/reply to more tweets and blogs too, even when I felt like I didn’t have anything useful to say.

4. Start figuring out tentative nano plans, including if I’m invoking Zotoku to whittle down the WIPs, or if I
have something else clamoring to be written.- I think I’m going to invoke Zotoku unless a new idea eats my brain. I have too many projects in various stages of writing to not. In order of most to least complete: Shadow Wood, Top Hat, Starboard, Printed. And those are just the ones I’ve more than outlined on. I’m not even counting the projects that are just vague handwaves in my ideas file. Come late October, I’ll update the word counts and see what has 50k+ worth of story in it to go. Suspect Starboard, but I’m being fussy with the style on that.

Still waiting on Secret. Not allowing myself to prod until it’s been a full month. Doesn’t mean I’m not checking my inbox 5 times a day and jumping any time something comes in that box. πŸ˜‰ Luckily, it’s a side email account, and there’s only one other thing that generally goes there.

Other than that, I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather over the weekend (sorta achy, sorta sore throat, generally strange), so I’m downing tea with honey like it’s going out of fashion. It’s funny, in TX, I almost never got sick. I blame the humidity up here for carrying germs longer. I really do.

Oh well. I do what we all do; Just keep going, and hope for the best. πŸ˜€

6 Comments

  1. September 9, 2013 at 8:26 am

    Aww, hope you’re feeling better soon. There was definite dry heat in Sacramento and I think you’re right… I didn’t catch many colds there. This Secret thing has really got me curious πŸ˜€ I hope it works out, whatever it is! ❀

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 9, 2013 at 1:18 pm

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ You’ll find out as soon as I hear anything back, don’t worry! (Right now there’s like 3 people who know, and that’s ONLY because I needed the feedback on what I was doing. So don’t feel too left out!)

  2. September 9, 2013 at 12:56 pm

    Hello fellow #writemotivator!

    Sounds like you’ve got a great start on all your goals! I’m also sorry to hear you’re under the weather, because that’s never fun. Especially when it starts to feel colder outside. I don’t know why, but to me, it’s always feels worse when you get sick at the start of the season than the middle when you’re used to it. Hope you’re feeling better soon! And keep up the good work on your goals!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 9, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Hey, thanks! And yeah, I don’t know why, but I tend to either get the bugs at the beginning or the end of the season, never when it’s at the peak. I suspect it has more to do with when in my biorhythm I’m most exposed to other people and their germs. I’m lucky, this one is more a body cold than an eat my brain/sleep one, so I can still get writing/reading/crits done, even when my body needs to rest.

  3. September 9, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    Still got my fingers and toes crossed for you. I know all about the illness. I think mine has moved on to allergies. I just can’t seem to catch a break and feel well lately.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 9, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      Thanks sweetie! ❀ And ugh, that's sucky. 😦 *sprays lysol and benadryl all over you*


Leave a Reply

