#Writemotivation 7/22 update

1. The standard ones-Crits- One short in the inbox to do when I have time, going to try to glance it over at lunch this week sometime.
Walking-The heat made me really exhausted this week, but eh, that’s life.
Reading-9 for the month. I’m not counting a Marice Sendak I read, because seriously, that’s too short to count. 😛 Not entirely sure I’ll hit 15 this month, the long epic fantasy I decided to read in there murdered my pace. We’ll see, there’s a few 250-300 pg light reads in the TBR pile.
2.REVISED: Work on Starboard.-Going slow as an experiment. Going over what I’ve written each time I sit down to a chapter, in hopes that I can flesh/edit as I go for a change.
3. Keep up on OWM.- Working on the next round. I have ideas for all three, I just have to figure out details mostly.

Getting time to do anything productive where my brain is awake enough and I’m not busy with other things has been VERY hard with the schedule change. I had people trained that for the hour and a half before I left for work to leave me alone most days. I’m going to experiment with it this week. Last week I did a LOT of cooking, so this week is mostly leftovers. *wry grin* Alas, all my options suck. I can either get up even earlier than I am (Ugh!), skip having my breakfast time (which I’m leary of doing) and grab something on my way into work, or attempt to regain some brain cells after work. That’d work better if it weren’t for the heat making my brain complete goo. I might have to give in and actually take mass transit while it’s this hot. But I can’t see stinky buses and subway trains as a better option either.

We’ll see. Meanwhile, keep cool out there, it’s disgustingly hot. And you know it’s bad when the girl from TX thinks it’s awful! 😉

4 Comments

  1. July 22, 2013 at 10:04 am

    pretty sad when it’s cooler in Florida than it is in Philly! LOL But at least you only suffer the heat wave for a few weeks, rather than months. 🙂

    Hope your schedule gets sorted! Hope you’re liking your new position, though.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      July 22, 2013 at 6:29 pm

      Seriously. It really isn’t the temperatures nearly so much as the humidity. I’m just not used to it. SA was a really dry heat, so even though it was often over 100, if you stayed wet, you stayed cool. So you’d just run through some fountains or dump a water bottle on your head, and then you’re set. Here, that would just make you more miserable.
      And thanks! I stole some writing time at work today, on lunch/breaks, so we’ll see how viable an option that ends up in the long run. It’s the same job, just a different group/state, so details were the only change other than the time. 🙂 Fortunately. 😄

  2. July 22, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    This heat is killer. Ugh. My snowy arse actually misses the snow right now. And that’s unheard of.

    Changes in schedules are rough! You look like you are doing great though! 🙂 Keep up the awesomeness.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      July 24, 2013 at 6:41 pm

      I’m still not used to snow either. I like that middle ground where it’s like, 50-75, and there’s a nice breeze. Let’s just keep that year round! 😛

      And thanks! My theory is, if I just keep trying, I might get there. 😉


Leave a Reply

