July 8 #Writemotivation

1. The standard ones-Crits, walking, reading.- Crits- Did one for KT, just a quick readthrough/”Oh hey, this line doesn’t make sense”/”I think you need more detail about This Aspect,”/”You have a typo here” type read. Walked to work all last week, all 3 days of it. With there being a Thursday Holiday, I had planned ahead and scheduled Friday off too. IT WAS AWESOME. I feel so much more refreshed! Reading-I’m ahead already. 6 books. Uhm. Not sure really how that happened other than a slow work week and I didn’t feel like being productive.
2. Work on the heavy lifting on SW-Pending. I got distracted this weekend by Kt’s and by a plot bunny that’s been stewing that keeps hopping up and trying to get outlined. Working on it.
3. Keep up on OWM.- July’s story’s drafted, need to revise it. Next set of prompts are all picked, and I’ve got ideas for all of them, whoot!

Last week was nice and relaxing. Switching of groups at work is working well, I’ve made a few minor errors, but nothing that wasn’t fixed easily. I was very glad to have that extra day off, but I suspect it’s going to make this week feel very long indeed. No matter, I have things to work on and read at work both. πŸ™‚ The outline I’m working on is very… I’m not sure. Like, I’m using it to feel out where this story goes, but it’s hard to find the beats on this one. The pretty gems that are Key Plot Points seem wrapped in layers I’m still unwrapping. Granted, I won’t start working on it until I’ve puzzled it out, but it’s strange. My outlines are becoming steadily more in depth the more I do them. And since I’m doing a lot of the basic, atmospheric research first, to avoid having to stop mid word war, it’s taking time. That’s fine, I’m not doing this as a Camp Nano this year. Speed for me is no longer the focus. I want something I don’t need to overhaul completely after writing. I was close with SW, but not close enough.

4 Comments

  1. July 8, 2013 at 8:59 am

    *shakes pom poms* YAY! Yeah, last week was a very non-productive week for me, too, with the holiday and all! Really does throw off the schedule. Here’s hoping you can get back into the schedule and it’s not dragging this week! ❀
    I had a rough weekend with the cats, so hoping to get something productive done now….

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      July 8, 2013 at 9:25 am

      I saw, poor kitty! ❀ *waves pompoms back* YOU CAN DO IT! πŸ˜€

  2. July 8, 2013 at 9:09 pm

    I’ve been thinking about getting more detailed in my outlines as well, because revisions SUCK SO MUCH. I’d like something I only have to give 2-4 passes to… not 7+.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      July 9, 2013 at 7:47 am

      Exactly. I want to get to the point where I just have to polish, not overhaul. It’s so frustrating to have a story that’s otherwise great, only to find one (or more) major problem that means a lot of editing is needed to get it where it needs to be. A lot of my novels have been trunked for that, because I didn’t think the appeal of them was strong enough to get me through the edits. SW… is a little different, and the story itself is strong enough to be worth the effort. It’s a finess weaving in, and only rewriting the last, oh, 4 chapters. Weaving things in when it’s in first person though and keeping the flow is the hard part there, but it’s doable, just time consuming.


Leave a Reply

