June 3 Writemotivation

1. The standard ones- Though I’m pausing crits other than the internship and one that’s already in my inbox, in favor of working on my own stuff more. Worked on the one that’s in my inbox this weekend, about halfway done. Should finish this week.
2. Work on the heavy lifting on SW- Prodded it with a 10 foot pole. Ran my options by KT this weekend, things seem to make sense. Going to just dive in head first as downtime allows.
3. Get back to working on Top Hat- Haven’t worked on this. Maybe I’ll send this one to work and fiddle.
4. Keep up on OWM.-Already wrote my story for this month, yay!

Had a busy but relaxing weekend. Decided to be a homebody and get housework done, and while I was waiting on laundry and such, started fiddling with a semi-new project. Just a fluff piece, but between that and finishing the short story for OWM, I made a semi-respectable amount of words. Need to edit the OWM story this week (I’m last this time around, whoot!), but the hardest part is done.

I’m lucky I have a boss who doesn’t care what I do in my spare time as long as the work gets done first. And while he tries to keep me busy, sometimes he runs out of things for me to do, so I like having something to do other than reading old paperbacks. Never enough time, granted, to get really settled into what I’m doing, but enough to make some dents anyway, which is better than none. Slow and steady eventually gets there.

Another week, another month, one step at a time. I might be a tortoise, but I’ll get there.

4 Comments

  1. June 4, 2013 at 2:25 pm

    Love your boss for giving you the leeway you need! I don’t know where I’d be if I couldn’t write in my downtime at work! I’m sure I’d find some time somewhere….just not as much as I would want…there’s never enough time for what I need! 🙂

    Am loving your OWM prompts and stories!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      June 4, 2013 at 8:50 pm

      Seriously. He also knows that I’m not one to slack, and that me sitting there bored does no one any good. It would just make me start job hunting. So working on my stuff keeps everyone happy. 😀
      And thanks! You should write stories for a prompt or two too! The more the merrier!

  2. June 5, 2013 at 9:38 am

    Tortoises can move surprisingly fast if you turn your back on them, just fyi ;). I suspect you might do the same with your goals this month.

    And yes, I know about tortoise speed from personal experience. My mom has one (albeit a little one). I can’t tell you how many times we lost it in the backyard as kids.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      June 5, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      *laughs* I believe it! My grandmother used to have a box turtle. He was so nice and slow…. Until you wore black shoes, then he thought you were trying to kill him and he’d attack!
      So far this week, work’s been comparatively busy, as I’ve been helping beta test some software. But I still read through Top Hat. Hopefully at some point this week/weekend I’ll get more than a paragraph or two of new words in!!


Leave a Reply

