May 6 #Writemotivation and a bit of promotion

1. The standard ones- Walking, Reading, and Keeping up crits- Walked, read 1 full for the internship and one more regular, (will have another finished today at work. I had ten pages to go Friday evening, so frustrating!), and 60% of one crit and ~25% of another. Had a bunch come in for crit close together, getting those knocked out as best I can. Had a really quick turn around (after nudging) on the internship too, which was nice. I’d had to pester, and apparently the new intern coordinator was worried about overloading. *laughs* If people only realized.. I’d rather read things for internships and critique. It may be cat vacuuming, but it makes me feel useful! Hopefully will finish those crits and the next internship book this week!

2. Keep editing on SW- I was too absorbed on other things this weekend to work on it. Though the only point this weekend I put down my kindle for any significant amount of time was to let it charge…

3. OWM.- So, OWM= Our Write Mind, a group blog KT, Becca, and I have started. I’m up first, so keep an eye out there Wednesday. The first prompt image is up already, feel free to write if inspired by the prompts! If you do, let us know! If there’s enough people participating, we’ll do a round up post as well to link to them all.

4. Get my mornings back!- This week wasn’t so good for that, mostly because I kept sleeping in. This week, trying an experiment: If I can get to bed just half an hour earlier, then I can get up at 630-7, which gives me ~4 hours before I need to get moving for work. Even assuming I take the first hour of that for shower/breakfast, I should be able to get a lot done in 3 hours! Realistically, my body clock is set right now for 730, so that’s going to take some adjusting time. It’s knocking other things out of the way of getting productive things done that I need to take care of. I timed it this morning. Waking up to leaving the bathroom after my shower (I can’t stand showering at night, it has to be in the AM) takes about 30-45 minutes, so I need to figure out quick breakfast grabs, and set a productive time start at 9am for most days.

Which means I have normally around 45 minutes to grab something to eat, pack my lunch, and get in gear.
Also, May might be a bit busier than usual around here. I’m going to help out with a blog tour thing later this month, and with OWM in there, I wanted to try a few proper blog posts in here too. We’ll see what happens, anyway!

On the plus side, the daylife has calmed down somewhat. I’m going to try to get on a more complex team at work (I shouldn’t be able to read multiple books in the course of a work week because it’s so slow. That’s a waste of their money. Granted, I’ll take it and run, but still!). I did, however, talk my manager into letting me email him files I’m working on so I can work on them while at work, so that’s a win. Something about having 3 weeks of slow in a row (they reduced our mail drop because the state we’re working for is dragging their heels about getting us the data they’ve promised us), he’s like, as long as work work gets done first, enjoy. So hopefully that’ll give me a couple hours per day worth of edit time anyway.

Ok, enough blogging, more working! Have as good of a Monday as you possibly can!! 😉

6 Comments

  1. May 6, 2013 at 9:13 am

    I love when DayJobs allow for “writing/reading/critiquing” I’m lucky in that too. When I get my portion of the project done, there’s always a wait time while others do their portion, before it comes back to me, etc…so while I’m on the downtime, then I can *TRY* to get back into the writing mode… 😀

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 6, 2013 at 10:01 am

      Pretty much same type of work flow here, except it’s our customers that we’re waiting on more often than other coworkers. I feel really bad for one of the guys who’s not a reader/writer type. He sits there doing wordsearches and reading the newspaper, slowly dying of boredom. (also, if you’re curious, yours is the one I’m more through. Hoping to have it done by this weekend at worst.)

  2. Amy Ravenel said,

    May 7, 2013 at 10:56 am

    I’ve tried the whole “get up earlier” thing, and it never works for me. My husband likes to make fun of me because I can never achieve that goal. Good luck with yours, though. 🙂

    And good luck on those critiques and the editing! 🙂

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 7, 2013 at 10:22 pm

      Thanks! It never worked when I wasn’t getting up early at all, but I think since most of my problem is other things taking over my mornings, rather than not being awake, it might work. It’s a matter of prioritizing.

  3. K.T. Hanna said,

    May 8, 2013 at 12:47 am

    I miss you. But one day I’ll no longer be this crazy busy lol. Neither will you. We will travel and sign books… Oh wait, I’m getting ahead of myself lawl

    Much love. May is in for trouble!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 8, 2013 at 9:23 am

      I know, right!! Imagine how much more I’d get done… wait. Tried that. Got less done. 😄 I like being busy. Just wish it was all in writing/publishing, not dayjob. And yes, it so is! ❤


Leave a Reply

