March Roundup and April goals

So, March turned out wonderful!
1. Spend at least an hour a day working on something writing related: I wasn’t really able to time it, but I’d say I succeeded at this more days than not.
2. Read at least 15 books– 2 internship book so far this month, 1 crit for a friend, 14 regular books=17!
3. Keep up on crits.- Did wonderful on this. Even got the crit for a friend done earlier than I’d anticipated, which was nice.
4. Walk to work every day.- Despite Monday evening raining on me unexpectedly (which, for the record, was miserable!), I still did it!!

I call that a win!
So of course, I have to figure out what I want to do in April. I think it’s getting a bit monotonous, so I’m going to change some things up. So, for April:

1. The standard ones- I’m lumping them together. Keep up on crits, walk to work, and read at least 15 books.
2. Outline SW2 and 3- Not in detail, but at least the broad strokes. This has to be done before I can really attack #3, because I want to make sure the major plot threads layer in right.
3. Begin edits on SW1- I have no illusions I can finish this edit pass in a month. But I can at least begin attacking it. I hope to get KT’s edits back soon (I don’t say this to nag her, I know she’s working as fast as she can right now, and doing awesome!), but I know the broadest strokes of the edits I need to do, and while I’m looking forward to more specifics, we’ve already touched on the big issues. Worst case, I start adjusting the biggest things and then work on other things from there.

Given the size of those, I’m playing it safe. I also have some recipes I want to write up, hopefully I’ll have time to do that. April promises to be busy, but hopefully not too crazy. We’ll see. My experiment with timing my writing didn’t end up doing as much, productivity-wise, as I hoped it would. It was too difficult to keep track of the time, especially when writing at work. I’m going to mainly work on my outlining at work, and I’m cautiously optimistic on it. There is part that needs redone, but I have a clear idea in mind, and the adjustments click into place very well. In fact, it works FAR better than what was there originally.

Also, I don’t know how many of you watched it, but BBCAmerica has a new show called Orphan Black. Watching it Saturday night, I kept analyzing it, trying to decide if I liked it or not. On one hand, the concept is overused, but if it does things in less predictable ways, it at least has the potential to be good. But it’s a great exercise in how to keep digging things worse for your MC. Things aren’t that great in her life to begin with, and when she sees a chance to escape her life by jumping headfirst into the life of a woman who looks just like her, she takes it. She has a choice to make: Deal with her problems, or try to run from them. She runs from them, and gets into far more trouble. Things just keep compounding, leading to sticky moments, and each time, one of her options is to find a way to run from the situation. This is the option she picks, every time. But there’s potential for character growth, because in her struggling with it, you see that she wants more out of her life as well. She wants connections and a stability that seems to have been missing in her life the whole time. The show has flaws, certainly, but there’s enough intriguing me about it, and wanting to see if she starts growing, that I’ll give it a few more episodes before making any real judgements.

3 Comments

  1. April 1, 2013 at 11:09 am

    Definitely a win on those goals!! As ever, your productivity is an inspiration 🙂

    I watch so little TV (mostly just films and series on DVD) these days, but it’s funny when people back in America mention things they’ve seen on BBC America that I’ve never heard of! That sounds intriguing, maybe have to check it out. Thanks for sharing!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 2, 2013 at 9:35 am

      I think, based on what people are saying about it, it’s actually a BBCA original, rather than a BBC moved over here. I have to admit, there are enough popular BBC shows that I keep giving them chances I wouldn’t give American made shows. Most of the ones here are still stupid “reality” shows… which are just idiotic.

  2. April 2, 2013 at 1:53 pm

    FTW! I had no doubt you’d manage to pull it all off…if not most 😉 So happy for you! Can’t wait to see what kinds of recipes you got brewing! 🙂

    Now, if only I could get my stuff in check and get this elephant off my chest….maybe I could get back to writing dammit!


Leave a Reply

