March #Writemotivation goals/Feb wrap up

1. Keep up on crits!-Did another for my internship, and one for Trisha this weekend, which was awesome! I always love getting to crit for someone new, and when it’s an author I already love the style of, it’s a serious treat!
2. Walk to work at least 4/5 days each week- Walked all week again. Yay! Go me!
4. Read at least 15 books- Final count: 2 internship books (one more finished in March, so not counting that yet!), 11 regular books, 1 other crit book (but it’s a reread), 1 arc= 15.
I’ll call that a win across the board!!

So, onward! March’s goals:
1. I’ve noticed I’m having trouble getting started lately, so trying an experiment: Spend at least an hour a day working on something writing related: New words, outlines, revisions, crits.
2. Read at least 15 books.- 1 internship book so far this month, 1 crit of an upcoming book, 2 regular books. Not bad for only 4 days into the month!
3. Keep up on crits.- So far, so good. Had until Tuesday to get crits/internship book both done, got them both done Saturday!)
4. Walk to work every day. -Having this on here makes me do it. I don’t want to break my streak, and that keeps me walking when the weather’s crappy. That, and having to figure out where to get on/off mass transit confuses me.

The first one’s going to be hard, hence why it’s the only really challenging one. Finding an extra hour in my day seems to be the problem. I honestly didn’t try on Friday. I was in a bad mood all day, had to be into work early, and even though I got off early (thanks to our Friday trivia game!), I was still too cranky and unfocused to do anything. On the good side, I pulled out an ancient Alphasmart to write on at work, and got a bit more than 1k words in this last week. Not bad, given I’m at sorta a sticky chapter. I did get some crit work done Friday, but not as much as I’d like. However, I spent several hours Saturday and Sunday working on stuff, so I figure it balances out. I may be getting crit back sometime this month too, and hopefully I can carve out time for it. I really want to see if I can finish Top Hat this month, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen. Depends how intense the edits on SW end up being. At least it doesn’t seem like I’ll have to redo this one from scratch, based on what feedback I’ve gotten so far. Which, erm… Well, thrills me more than there are words to describe! This will be the FIRST novel I’ve written that doesn’t need a complete rewrite to make it viable, if the initial feedbacks prove the rule! We’ll see how much heavy lifting ends up in there once I get the full crits, but I’m cautiously optimistic on this one.

This month’s going to be a doozy, schedule-wise. I have family obligations the last 2 weekends this month, and the last Monday of this month is the big family seder. This involves massive amounts of me doing the allergen friendly versions of family classic dishes. Does anyone want the recipes while I’m making things anyway?

10 Comments

  1. March 4, 2013 at 9:03 am

    Seder recipes? YES PLEASE! I may not be Jewish, but I can appreciate good food.

    Also, I haven’t finished revisions on Catalyst yet (blah), so would it be okay if I got that to you closer to the end of March? I’m not going to be touching it in April anyway, cause of Camp NaNo. I’m also going to need your email address sometime before then (you can DM me on twitter, or shoot me an email at rebekah dot loper at gmail).

    Also, when you wrote “ancient Alphasmart” my first thought was totally “typewriter!” Just thought I’d share . . .

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 4, 2013 at 10:06 am

      *laughs* Awesome. 😀 And no worries, it’s in your DMs (and if it gets lost, it’s also on the blog’s sidebar). I’ll poke at it in April anyway at this rate, so that’s perfect.
      And nope, I mean one of these things. But that’s hilarious! 😀

  2. March 4, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    i hope you’re not going to read 15 books in march alone – that’s a lot of books for one month! i thought i was reading fast this year and i’ve just read ten books since january. i’ve heard other writers using the alphasmart – actually ally carter writes all her rough drafts on one.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 4, 2013 at 9:33 pm

      *laughs* I did it last month, counting crit/internship novels! I try to read 150 books a year, and 15 books a month makes up for the months where I can’t seem to get much read. Last year I crammed a bunch of the books into December, and REALLY didn’t want to do that to myself again this year! It helps that it only normally takes me ~3 hours to read the average ~300 page novel.
      And yay! 😀 I love it, it’s just so useful for writing at work, (or while travelling, the battery life puts all laptops I’ve had to shame!)

      • March 4, 2013 at 10:41 pm

        omg…i am such a slow reader. i could probably read 50 pages in 3 hours. my brain is sooooo slow.

        • Leigh Caroline said,

          March 5, 2013 at 8:22 am

          Aww *hugs*! I picked up a light version of speed reading as a kid, and it never quite left. It does help enormously. Though I have other friends who read so fast it makes my head spin, too, so you’re not alone! ❤

          • March 5, 2013 at 8:46 am

            some read even faster? that may qualify as a super power.

          • Leigh Caroline said,

            March 6, 2013 at 9:28 am

            One of my friends, Nikki, reads 4-500 books a year!! Though she’s a lit grad student, and thus has no dayjob. Which, I swear, is cheating. 😛

          • March 6, 2013 at 10:02 am

            mutant. definitely a mutant.

  3. March 5, 2013 at 2:51 pm

    15 books in a month! I wish I could do that. Great work and of course we want recipes – gimme gimme gimme 😉


Leave a Reply

