Last post of the year

Happy New Years!! I’ve got other things to do today, so I’ve planned ahead for once and written up a post in advance. So don’t be alarmed if you don’t catch me today, I’m hanging out with friends tonight and planning on us getting well and truly stuffed with good food and drinks. This just involves me making said food and drinks, and thus likely not being here.

So, 2011- Not such a great year, but not all bad. I revised one novel then shelved it, due to beta feedback. It will get fixed in a rewrite, but it was a bit too much for me to handle with everything else. Picked up an old Script Frenzy project, intending to just novelize it, only to have it shift and grow on me into SW. I hope to finish it today in between everything else. If not, well, tomorrow morning then looking it over for a few days, then sending to the first round of crit partners for feedback. In the middle of all else, worked on Top Hat, got to a reasonably respectable 30k on that for Nano. On the writing front? A decent year. Total words for the year (approx) 100k, mostly usable.

Moved cross country at the end of January, which was scary as hell. It was rather depressing leaving my friends there behind, but I’ve kept in touch with most of them, and those I haven’t kept in touch with, well, if they wanted to they know how to reach me. Spent a few months with plans up in the air while the condo was being remodeled, and a few more months waiting. Finally moved in, still not entirely unpacked though, as I need more bookcases and don’t like the ones I’ve been finding. The ones I like are outside the price range I’m willing to spend right now on them. But I’ve made a few new friends, and I’m still job hunting. I’ve been interning as well, and hopefully I can change careers into editing or agenting, or really anything in publishing. I’ve always wanted to, and it seemed impossible… But I’m determined. Nothing is impossible, if I take the chance and run with it.

So, December’s goals were:
1.Keep up on crits/internships- Did decent on this. The first one of the month took me FOREVER. The second I’m saving starting on until January, in favor of finishing the other goals.

2. Finish SW.-Not quite, but I’m less than 2k from it.

2b. If done with SW before the month is out, do an edit pass on it. I want to send this out to the first round betas in January. –

3. Keep working on Top Hat. Get to 50k, minimum.

4. Job. Seriously universe, I want money again damnit!- *mutters*

5. Get to a total of 150 books+ for the year. Bonus points if I can do so without counting the ones I’m critting/internship. (This would mean reading 47-59 books in December!)- Current book count:150 published, 11 unpublished=161! DONE! (though wow, my eyes were exhausted last night!)

Check back tomorrow for 2013’s 13 things… 😉

2 Comments

  1. December 31, 2012 at 11:09 am

    Moving is HUGE – especially cross-country. And all that writing, and critting – you’ve had a super productive year from what I can see! Let’s hope 2013 has long-awaited work opportunities for both of us 🙂 Happy New Year!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      December 31, 2012 at 3:04 pm

      Yeah, it was quite the whirlwind!! I guess I have unfair standards on myself, since writing has so few milestones. And yes!! Race you! 😛 Just kidding.
      Happy new year, hope you’re having fun!!


Leave a Reply

