#writemotivation Dec 17 update

1.Keep up on crits/internships-Going to work on this more today. I don’t know why, but it’s taking me longer than usual to do this one. Still waiting on emails for any other full crits. Did have a proposal to review last week for the internship, got it back to them again the same day. *buffs nails*

2. Finish SW.-I figured out part of my problem with the chapter I’m on, and made it past the scene I was fighting with. I have only a vague notion of what’s happening in this chapter, but I know what happens at the end of the chapter, and I know what needs to happen before that, so it’s a matter of sussing out the order more than anything else.
2b. If done with SW before the month is out, do an edit pass on it. I want to send this out to the first round betas in January. -won’t likely be done before the end of the month, but I’m determined I will be DONE this month, come hell or high waters.

3. Keep working on Top Hat. Get to 50k, minimum.-*laughs* Yeah, not happening this month. Reading’s trumping writing time this month.

4. Job. Seriously universe, I want money again damnit!- Applied for a couple really nicely paying ones that are slightly out of my area. Need to figure out a good cover letter for any publishing positions.

5. Get to a total of 150 books+ for the year. Bonus points if I can do so without counting the ones I’m critting/internship. (This would mean reading 47-59 books in December!)- Current book count: 121 published, 11 unpublished=132. With the unpublished, it’s very much in reach. Not sure I’m going to have time for without the unpublished.

I’ve been rather busy. Between social events, holiday baking FOR said events, and the insanity that has been the news lately (don’t get me started. I have a lot of thoughts on the subject, and I don’t really have time at the moment to type them all up), I’ve been more distractible than usual. For some weird reason, my mom’s sending me a popsicle maker. I don’t even like popsicles that much, as I tend to end up wearing them instead of eating them. I prefer ice cream, and I don’t have enough kitchen storage space for unitask gadgets that won’t get used often. So I’m going to be bad and just take it back when it gets here (She ordered the accessories already, and those got here ahead of the unit itself) and get a calphalon pan instead. I know it’s slightly bad, but … She never asks what I want, or looks at my wishlist. Right now, I’d want either the money she’d waste on crap I don’t want, or amazon cards so I could get what I wanted instead (like more bookcases. Or books. Or a million other things that I actually would use!). It rather boggles my brain, Em’s mom gave us money for Hanukah, and it’s more than I’ve ever gotten from one person before in my life. It’s more than I normally get from my family all combined. Granted, I’m going to use it for practical things, something about being unemployed almost all year… But still. I considered going to disneyland with the money when we have to be out there for a cousin’s wedding anyway. Decided I’d rather have an actual bed, instead of an air bed, and that short of CA falling into the ocean, Disneyland will still be there later. It was sorely tempting though.

Lunch, then errands. I’ll try to get a second post in this week… It’s more likely to happen than next week!

Also? KT and I are up to mischief for the new year. Keep your eyes open.

1 Comment

  1. December 22, 2012 at 7:04 am

    Wow, a popsicle maker… I just don’t even.

    And I’m sorry to be unchatty. Been home, recuperating playing gamed, trying to fix said game, waiting for an email telling me I have to go in to work on my time off…blah blah blah

    Can’t wait to conspire with you and KT…she told me a little bit 🙂


Leave a Reply

