#Nanowrimo post mortem

Heh. So. Nano final count ended up ~29k for the month. I’m actually okay with this, though. I know I can write fast. It’s writing quality that matters to me right now. I have too many old trunk novels. I want ones I can shine up now.

I think it’s a combination of things. I had a LOT of distractions this month. I found there was a ~3 hour space in the morning and a ~2hr space at night where words would happen. This would have worked well, except it was like people had a 6th sense to know when I opened my file. IMs, texts, shouts from the next room, etc. It almost never failed, and once I’m interrupted, it took ~20-30 minutes to get back on task. I also had a lot of research I didn’t anticipate before hand. Some of it I did, but I thought it would be easy enough to do a two second google, and then jump back in. Yeah, no. Add in several cloudy, sleepy days, and I fell behind… And never really caught the energy to catch up, despite my best intentions. I sure as hell am not writing 20k and change today. It’s just not happening. I don’t have the energy, nor the focus.

Plus I decided I want to read more before the end of the year.

So, modified goals for December:

1.Keep up on crits/internships. So far I have 2 novels to crit confirmed for December, a couple chapters of something else to read, and bouncing of a few scenes hopefully in there somewhere with one other person. Plus probably 2 or 3 books for the internship. I did find out I was making my job harder than it needed to be when they sent us all more specifics about what they wanted, so these are now a LOT less time consuming than they had been.

2. Finish SW. (Yes, I know, this is going to make KT squeefit)
2b. If done with SW before the month is out, do an edit pass on it. I want to send this out to the first round betas in January.

3. Keep working on Top Hat. Get to 50k, minimum.

4. Job. Seriously universe, I want money again damnit!

5. Get to a total of 150 books+ for the year. Bonus points if I can do so without counting the ones I’m critting/internship. (This would mean reading 47-59 books in December!)

Can I do it all?! We’ll see!

2 Comments

  1. December 3, 2012 at 8:01 am

    You pretty much described my November – sleepy, cloudy days with lack of focus! And the research. I’m really interested to exchange MSs when we both finish these current ones, given our similar experiences writing them (and that name…) 😉 Best of luck with all that’s going on, particularly #4!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      December 3, 2012 at 9:13 am

      *laughs* You’ll get my prenano WIP first, before I finish off the nano one. I’m afraid that one requires at least 2 edit passes before it gets to be seen by anyone other than KT (and she’s only allowed because I need someone to make sure the plot doesn’t jump the shark as I go!) and thanks. 😀


Leave a Reply

