Rejections

Argh! I didn’t get that job that I was wanting. My friend who works there said they went with people who had a lot of non-profit experience this time around. In this case, it’s that my experiences don’t match what they didn’t even say they wanted, and in my enthusiasm to try to come across as flexible, I think I maybe came across as too much an over achiever who would just be using this job as a stepping stone.

Job searching is just depressing. Doubly so when I was used to being the top on my team constantly at the old job, and only left to move to civilization.

I honestly think, in many ways, I’d rather deal with publishing rejections, because I can distance it better. It’s not ME they don’t like, but the story. Maybe it’s the market. Maybe it’s not bad writing, but they just didn’t connect with it, or they already have a client working on a similar concept (though I doubt this one with my current WIPs. I tend to march to a different idea beat than most people.) Maybe I just caught them on a bad day, and I should have included chocolate in the query.

Life is full of rejections. We have to roll with them, slog on, and hope for the best.

Meanwhile, I write on.
(And put in some applications for editor/agent jobs. After all, the worse they can say is no!)

6 Comments

  1. Becca said,

    November 8, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I’m sorry, hon. 😦 I ❤ ❤ ❤ you THIS much.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 8, 2012 at 2:15 pm

      ❤ Thank you sweetie. Loves you too! *hugs*

  2. November 9, 2012 at 8:00 am

    *hugs* So sorry. From the girl who has been full-time job-applying since April 2010, I can TOTALLY sympathise. Given I had a decent salary before I got my degree and was an Exec Assistant and Office Manager and supervised departments at various jobs. Now I can’t even get a receptionist job. So I am with you. Rejections suck, especially when it feels like we did our best but the hoops they wanted us to jump through were invisible 😛 But as everyone and their brother is repeatedly telling me, what’s for you won’t go by you, and it JUST takes ONE. (Same for agents and publishers 🙂

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 9, 2012 at 12:10 pm

      *hugs* Yeah. I really do believe in fate, I just hate getting hopes dashed like that. I wish people would just say upfront, “This is what we want”. Ah well. ❤

  3. November 9, 2012 at 9:26 am

    ****hugs**** I know what you are going through. I may not be doing it myself, but I’ve been there. I’m hoping I won’t be there again soon when the sequestration happens next year 😦 *fingers crossed for the both of us*

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 9, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      *hugs* Yeah. It’s one of those things in life that I think everyone has to deal with at some point… But it won’t get me down long! I figure, it just gives me more writing time while I’m job hunting! Maybe I’ll finish up a novel, polish it, and get it published from these experiences!


Leave a Reply

