Nov 5 #Writemotivation/Nano update

1. Crits paused except for internship. Anything anyone wants done can wait until December.- I sorta broke this, but only slightly because it’s a story I’ve read a million times, and I wasn’t doing linelevels. Just reading back over it to make sure.
2.Nanowrimo- WIN this year! (Then I’ll be at 5/10 nano wins!)-10k down as of last night, 40k more to go! I’m only doing 2-3k a day, but I’m fairly happy with the words I’m putting out. KT called the first chapter lyrical, and loved it. I tried an experiment with the voice in chapter 2, and she didn’t, which matched my gut thinking. So now I know exactly what I need to do, it just takes a little extra work on the sensory side. But it’s worth it, it makes it SO PRETTY!
3. Job. Pretty please universe?-*still crossing fingers*

Would you like a snippet?
(For lack of better ideas, I’m starting at the beginning, and then you’ll get other snippets as we go.)

I catch a glimpse of it out of the corner of my eye while putting the plates away, a shadow skittering where no shadow should be. I sigh, wiping my hands on the ratty, stained dishcloth. “Mom, it’s out again!” I shout. A glance in the living room told me I shouldn’t have bothered. She was drooling on herself again, passed out. I count the silver cans around her, and give up any hope of waking her. That far into her beers, she’ll be lucky not to be late to work tomorrow.
Guess I’m stuck cleaning up more than just the kitchen. As usual. So much for doing my homework after dinner. At least I’m wearing jeans this time. Chasing demons in sweatpants always chafes.
I grab the net from the wall between the grey string mop and the broom with hairballs hanging from the bottom. The tan wooden handle feels good in my hands, familiar and almost warm. “Come out, come out, wherever you are.” The net twitches to life in my hands and I cling on tightly. It’s not like I really need the enchantment. The double wide doesn’t give the imp much in the way of places to hide, but after I spent two hours searching for an escaped fairy one night, only to find it hidden in the overhead light when I finally gave up, I always use it.
The screen door flaps, and the net whips around, pulling me with it. I barely manage to hold it still long enough for me to slip on my battered sneakers before it rips out of my hands and goes flying through the night. I chase after it, my feet pounding on the gravel drive. For a moment, I wonder which would be worse; a neighbor seeing the net flying alone, or the imp escaping;. Being burnt as a witch, or possibly setting off the apocalypse. Not really much of a choice when you think about it for two seconds. My mother may be a drunken idiot, but in one of her rare sober moments, she’d managed to teach me the basics, anyway. Don’t get caught using magic. Don’t let creatures from the dark realm into this one. Always clean up whatever messes you get yourself into, because no one will do it for you.
The last part I don’t think was in the Grimorie. If I ever get ahold of it, though, I’m writing it in.

How’s your nano going?

8 Comments

  1. November 5, 2012 at 10:26 am

    That is awesome! 😀 Love it. Great voice and intriguing story. Good job!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 5, 2012 at 10:31 am

      Thank you! 😀

  2. November 5, 2012 at 1:58 pm

    ha! nice last line. good luck with your goals. nano, up!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 5, 2012 at 2:12 pm

      *laughs* Thanks! I so adore her attitude. She’s a bit more sarcastic than I’m used to writing.

  3. November 5, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Escaped fairies! *giggles*

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 6, 2012 at 11:48 am

      *giggles* Close, but not quite. But ooh, I can see why you’d think faerie there. *grins*

  4. November 8, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Love it!! Hope to read more :} Enjoying NaNo a lot more this year, probably because I know where the story is going. Just trying not to get bogged down in the details at the moment, which is hard when you have a perfectionist streak 😛 but apart from that, loving it 🙂 Good luck with the job hunt; been there, still doing it!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      November 8, 2012 at 11:35 am

      Heheh thanks! Just remember, you can always fix it later! I have the same problem, I allow myself only limited research during the writing (only during the times where i know I won’t get words in anyway), and then fix it after.


Leave a Reply

