Nanoprep: Are you stocked up?

What do you need for nano?

Well, obviously something to write on and about. This year, I’m using my laptop and Scrivener. (My adoration for Scrivener deserves a whole ‘nother post. Suffice it to say, it’s about 1/2 the reason I got a mac laptop when I wanted a laptop. The other half is the warranty.) The about?

A half-trained witch accidentally lets a demon loose, and needs to catch it before her mom, or the council, finds out. Only problem is, there’s a transdimensional circus in her way. A cloud boy ringleader asks for her help, and promises to help her catch the demon in return for finding out why the elephant has turned into a zombie. The more clues she finds though, the less sense it all makes. When the disease starts spreading to the other members of the circus, the race for the cure becomes a race for survival… and she still has to catch the demon and finish her homework!

Should be a little random, a little social commentary, and a lot of fun.

A bribe:
Let’s face it. We all need bribes to get through those slogging sections. One year, I bribed myself with a pretty tea cup. One year it was British chicken crisps (because OMG those are addictive!!). I haven’t figured out my bribe this year. Possibly rum.

Any suggestions? I’m excited, can you tell?
I’m thinking I’ll do a nanocentered post each week until kickoff. Any objections? 😛

2 Comments

  1. October 12, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    That sounds like so much fun!! Love the idea! 🙂 And looking forward to reading some of your writing 🙂

    Scrivener is the bomb. I absolutely love it, though I’m first to admit I use about a tenth of the features. Need to use more. It’s great being able to sync it with Simplenote on the iPad so on the commute or whatever I don’t need to bring my laptop to do some editing.

    As for bribes…hmm, hadn’t though of that but I think I’ll need to think of something good. 🙂 Never tried those chicken crisps – I love most flavours but chicken and prawn have both been left alone! Might try chicken after all 🙂

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      October 12, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      Heee! And you’ll probably get to read SW before this one, just because once I’m done with that one, I REALLY want to polish it up. Maybe during Nano I’ll post snippets of this though. We’ll see. 😉

      I probably don’t do everything it can either. But I love that I can import all my research/related pictures. It makes it so much easier. Before, I just created folders for each story, and then half the time lost things.

      I haven’t tried prawn either (mostly because shrimp/shellfish as a whole is rather gross tasting to me), but the Walkers roasted chicken with… I think it was thyme? Rosemary? something like that. OMG suuuuuch crack.


Leave a Reply

