Nanowrimo prep: Ideas and dares

So I finally decided, I’m going to at least attempt to work on Codename: Top Hat. (Yes, the name changed slightly). I realized, I can mine the old dares threads for ideas, and weave them into a plot, and it’ll be fun, if a bit random. It’s a middle grade, though, which should be fun to try.

The blurb:
“A half-trained witch accidentally lets a demon loose, and needs to catch it before her mom, or the council, finds out. Only problem is, there’s a transdimensional circus in her way. A cloud boy ringleader asks for her help, and promises to help her catch the demon in return for finding out why the elephant has turned into a zombie. The more clues she finds though, the less sense it all makes. When the disease starts spreading to the other members of the circus, the race for the cure becomes a race for survival… and she still has to catch the demon and finish her homework!”

If nothing else, it should be entertaining! And I’m pulling from old dares lists for bits to flesh out the world some, and for things to use in emergencies if I get stuck. It’s amusing to me to see some dares in books I’ve read lately. I don’t deliberately pick up nanoinspired novels (with the exception of a couple over the years), but it amuses me nonetheless.

Are you getting ready for Nano? Any dares that you think might suit my story? Or does anyone want a pre-nano prep class here? I used to run one with my local group, so if you’re interested, sound off! (I suspect most of you are above the level of the normal class, but refreshing the basics of worldbuilding, plotting, and character development is never a bad thing)

2 Comments

  1. Becca said,

    October 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    OMG! *glomps* That sounds like such crazy, charming shenangians – I’m so excited!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      October 3, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      *grins* It’s going to be a very Nano story. But hopefully, it will be good too. 🙂 We’ll see once I’m done with it! (Speaking of done, I’m about 20k from the end of SW. My goal is to finish it before Nano, and send it to ya’ll by January. I figure, I might be able to get edits done by next May, hopefully!)


Leave a Reply

