Selfpublished gems

(And we’re going to pretend this went up yesterday. I got distracted by reading… oops!)

So far, I haven’t had much luck finding self-published books I like. Every so often, though, I find good ones.
The Silence is Deafening by Lacey Riggan. I’m not a big horror reader, and you might remember my raving about this before, but it bears mentioning again. She also has a book I can only describe as women’s fiction, Little Feet. It seems almost like a fictional memoir, given what I know of her past, some of these events could very well have happened. One thing’s consistent across her books: Lush details and a sense of the words. She has a deft touch, which I really enjoyed.

Whispers in Autumn and the sequel Winter Omens caught my attention when Becca was giving copies away on her blog. It caught my attention with the pretty covers, and Becca saying it’s good. Now, I don’t take most people’s words on books. But having read and enjoyed Becca’s writing, I figured the odds were good that if she liked it, I probably would too. I devoured the first book, immediately went and bought the second book, and on finishing it, cursed that the next wasn’t out yet. Though since it’s self-publishing, it looks like she’s planning a December release. Can’t come soon enough for me!

Have you found any really good self or small press published books? I’m game for pretty much any YA genre, or scifi/fantasy, but my requirements otherwise are pretty strict: Impeccably copy edited (or nearly so. A few typos won’t throw me, but really, it needs to look like it wasn’t typed out by a drunken monkey while on Ambien without benefit of spellcheck.) and compelling writing. I have a lot of half-read books in my kindle right now because the pacing just drags, and when I get bored, it turns into a DNF.

4 Comments

  1. thebnc said,

    September 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm

    Courtney Milan is a traditionally published author who has self-published her last few books/novellas. I LOVE HER STUFF SO MUCH. And her books are so well-done, I completely forgot they were self-published.

    I’ve read a few others, but my brain is not grabbing the names right now.

    Also, this: “it needs to look like it wasn’t typed out by a drunken monkey while on Ambien without benefit of spellcheck.” is a) true, and b) hilarious.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 29, 2012 at 1:56 pm

      Awesome, I’ll check hers out! Any others you remember, please tell me! It’s the one hazard of self publishing, to me. I don’t want to wade through the sheer volume to find the good ones. I normally just pick publishers I like, and just keep track of their new releases.
      And thanks. 🙂

  2. abigailkern said,

    September 30, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    Spelling/grammar errors are definitely the biggest deterrent for me when it comes to buying self-published fiction. Wish I had some good suggestions for you, but I haven’t been keeping up with my reading lately! Too engrossed in other things. 🙂 But I hope you find some good stuff. Definitely pass it along if you do.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      October 1, 2012 at 8:56 am

      My theory on spelling/grammar: Under 5 errors, I’ll let it slide. Over 100, I won’t finish the book. I think the biggest problem is most selfpublishing authors don’t have the funds to hire a professional editor, and don’t have strong beta readers who can strictly edit. I prefer that idea to that they just don’t care enough to edit, or think their books don’t need it. And thanks, I so will. 🙂 I’m a dork about books I love, they sorta leak through.


Leave a Reply

