#Writemotivation and Race check in, Sept 24

1. Get a job.-Put in a bunch more applications last week. So far, no dice. Alas.
2. Keep trying on my writing plan-These races are helping a LOT! As of last night when I called it a night, I’d written over 10k since last Wednesday!! Would have more, but was busy Sunday, and then went out to eat, got back and despite downing large amounts of sugar and caffeine, the food coma won.
3. Keep up on crits.-Did wonderful about this this month. I’m caught up on everything EXCEPT KT’s, but that doesn’t have any real deadline on it, because even once I’m done, she’s waiting on her wonderful agent’s feedback too. Plus, I doubt she’ll have time at this point to do these changes until after the baby’s born, so I’m just poking at it slowly and carefully. (Poor KT, she always gets the slow end of my work. But then again, it’s very much detail work, whereas most of the other crits I’ve been doing lately I can just take on my Kindle and read in bed)

This last week was pretty nice, actually. I finally got past the sticky part of the WIP, and the words just started flowing. Tried Turkish food, that was pretty awesome, even if mine did have a bit too much yogurt sauce on the dumplings. They were really awesome, it makes me want to learn how to make them so I can eat them all the time, and with different sauces and such.

Far as the move, clothing is all sorted, folded, washed, and hung, except for things that I need hangers for, and the things I need to run through a tumble cycle with one of those dry cleaning dryer bags. Towels are all washed (we have a small washer, so it was seriously 4 loads worth of bath towels) and folded. Still sorting stuffed animals. I’m going to send a box full of them to one of my buddies back in San Antonio for her little girl (who I utterly adore, and who’s so cute, because she doesn’t get why she hasn’t seen us in months! So sometimes they get in the car, and she’ll ask her mom if they can go see us!! She’s three, and such a darling. I would move the galaxy for that child, if I could)

I’m still figuring out where I can shove more shelves. I’m pondering lining all the walls with shelves, for books. We have so many! I need to go through again and be utterly merciless. I have an entire shelf of TBR. But it’s so, so much easier to just read on my kindle… so I might just add them all to my goodreads list, then take them to the local used book store, and just get them in digital form when the mood strikes to read them. There’s a fair chunk of my keeper fiction shelf that I can probably get digital too, and a lot of those I doubt I’ll encounter the authors to get signed or anything. Some of them, sure, but probably not the majority. Though there are a few, like the first scifi novel I ever read, etc, that are automatic keepers no matter what.

Anyway… Back to writing with me! Whoot!!

7 Comments

  1. September 24, 2012 at 10:00 am

    Woot! Way to go! 10K is awesome! 😀 I didn’t get that much writing in from Wednesday. I’m thinking around 2-3K, but I did plot out the end of my book, so that’s a super plus!

    Good luck with everything.
    *hands out dinosaur cheerleader cookies*

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 24, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Whoohoo! Plotting out the ending is SUPER important and useful though!! I tend to start out with a loose outline, and then restructure it partway through based on the changes my characters tend to make. Keep it up!!! 😀 *noms cookies, cackles madly*

  2. abigailkern said,

    September 24, 2012 at 10:35 am

    Yay for books! You’ll find places to keep them. If not, send them here, c/o Book Addict, Richmond VA. I’ll be waiting.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 24, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      LOL I am notoriously BAD at getting to the post office. Though that’s a good idea! I could do some giveaways of random books! I was just going to take them down to the local used book store. 😛

  3. September 24, 2012 at 12:05 pm

    WOW! You knock it out!! Go go go! 😀
    I’m happy, too….progress and meeting a HUGE milestone. I know you already know and have already congratulated me…twice. 🙂 But I’m so proud! And you! proud of you and your progress too!!! YAY!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 24, 2012 at 3:00 pm

      Whoot! I know, and I’ll say it a third time!! Really, the hardest part of writing is getting words onto the page. The rest is details that are fixable in edits or with repetition. *sends cookies flying around* oops!

  4. viklit said,

    September 24, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Way to go sounds like your goals are progressing well!


Leave a Reply

