#writemotivation Sept 17 update

1. Get a job.-Put in 10+ apps last week. Now that I’m over my cold, I’m going to go poke around and see what I can find, even crappy, closer to home.
2. Keep trying on my writing plan- Keeping track, though I’ve been more focused on crits than my own writing this last week. Still, even just keeping track is allowing me to see patterns.
3. Keep up on crits.-Did amazing on this over the weekend. One of mine got cut off early, because we figured out another way to do it. Got another book for the internship that she needed back by today, had that done in half the time she asked for. And critted a couple chapters for Chey, to make sure her edits were working (they are, yay!!), and tried to flesh out some prewriting for Emmy, though not sure how much I actually managed to help with that one. It’s hard to try to point someone in the direction of deepening their story when you have only a tenuous grasp of the characters/worldbuilding. She’ll get there eventually though, I’m sure of it!

This last week was a bit nuts. We have our furniture, finally!! and all the other boxes and bags. So much of my time has been taken up with sorting the chaos of the move, I don’t think I even touched my WIP all week. Actually, I know I didn’t. But I was busy with crits, and things I learn from critting, I can then use in my own writing.

One of the things that bothered me about the project I was reading for the internship was how it felt like everything and the kitchen sink was thrown in, but nothing was followed through with. It’s the old Checkov’s gun rule. There were other issues, of course, and some good things too. But if it just escalates and escalates, it’s like trying to run up a down escalator. You need to get to a landing, to end the story. Even if everything isn’t resolved (like in a series), if it doesn’t at least get to that landing, it’s not the end of the book yet. (I could probably go on about this more, but I’m writing this on Sunday night and have to be out the door about when this post goes up, as we’re going to Rosh Hashana services this morning. We’d wanted to go last night, but D lost track of time at work and threw the schedule off so far that it didn’t happen. Ah well! (and no, I’m not Jewish, but D and E are, and I’m transportation))

5 Comments

  1. September 17, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Love the Checkov Gun rule! THAT’s AWESOME. But I kinda already through about that…at least, I hope I did in my writing. Only makes sense. And happy Rosh Hashana to E and D!!

  2. viklit said,

    September 17, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    You make such a good point with the Chekhov’s gun rule!

  3. September 17, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Chekhov’s gun rule is precisely why editing is so essential. It’s easy to put in an item, thinking you will use it then the story goes a different direction or worse reach a point where X,Y or Z item / event is used / referred to and forget that you never included that previously.

    *~MAJK~*

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 17, 2012 at 8:28 pm

      Exactly! When I’m editing, I write down ALL the items that get focused on. And don’t forget emotional ones too-If the character has a crippling fear of fire, there must be a fire (Metaphorical, or literal) she must overcome later on in the story! If there isn’t, then that fear is no use. It doesn’t help her grow as a character.

  4. abigailkern said,

    September 18, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Well said! Keeping my fingers crossed for you on the jobs. All they have to do is see how amazing you are and you’ll be shoe-in. 🙂


Leave a Reply

