Book Rave: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Caveat: I got this as an ARC back in June. I’d been so, so sad when they were out of these ARCS at BEA, but luckily, A.J. Locke had an extra copy she was giving away. I saw that and jumped on it, my heart pounding and fingers crossed that I was the first one to call dibs on it. I didn’t even look at the rest of the list of books she was giving away. I had eyes only for this one.

For once, it’s a Maggie book NOT in first person! On telling KT this, she asked me if I was sure it was a Maggie book. I assured her it was. *chuckles* Her distinct style, even in a third person POV, still comes through in the carefully chosen details and the well crafted moods. As usual for me, I devoured it in one sitting, and immediately wanted more. Mysterious events, dark and troubled boys, ghosts and psychics, this book takes all these predictable elements and twists them into something fresh. Granted, the main question of the book hasn’t been answered yet. But that’s okay, I know there’s more books on the way, and I trust her to get to it.

The only hazard of getting this as an ARC so far ahead of release? Now I have to wait longer for the next book in the series! But what does it tell you that, schedule permitting, I’m totally going to the launch party to get a regular copy signed? Comes out on the 18th, and trust me, even if you’re somehow not normally a fan of her work? Give this one a shot.

2 Comments

  1. September 15, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    lucky! so looking forward to reading this one. will have to wait along with the rest of humanity.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 15, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      LOL it was utter luck I caught the tweet about AJ’s blog post about 5 minutes after it went up. Otherwise, I’m sure it would have been gone. I know it sounds rather fangirlish, but I’m pretty much a sucker for anything Maggie puts out. She’s really nice too. I’ve met her twice now, and routinely comment on her blog. She definitely is good about making an effort to reply to everyone. It amazes me.


Leave a Reply

