#Writemotivation September 10

1. Get a job-Put in more applications this last week, while sick. Figured if I couldn’t get anything useful done, might as well do that. Found out the place I really wanted to apply to where a friend works just lost a big client so isn’t hiring like they were planning. Boo.
2. Keep trying on my writing plan- Moving and catching a cold threw a wrench into this. Still, progress is being made. Definitely need to make it a weekly writing amount based on reality, though I’m keeping up on the reading side anyway.
3. Keep up on crits-Slacked off a bit on this. Still made progress, though, just not as much as I wanted.

So the racing went well!! Even though I didn’t do as much as I wanted to, I liked the kick in the pants. So, this weekend, Friday-Sunday, do it again!! And post your results as part of #Writemotivation next week, okay? If any of you have preferred days, let me know. I’m going to try to scatter them so they’re not all weekends, and so there are some that are longer/shorter. We’ll see. Just a fun thing to do with #Writemotivation folks. There’s no losing, only winning!

*goes off, hacking head off* I hate colds.

8 Comments

  1. September 10, 2012 at 8:54 am

    Awwww, weekends usually suck for me and writing….

    can I do it M-F?!! 😀

  2. Leigh Caroline said,

    September 10, 2012 at 10:13 am

    If it works for you, sure! 😛 But you know, part of the point is pushing us to write on days we wouldn’t otherwise manage. 😛 Next batch will be a weekdays one, though. (Though depending on schedules, may take a couple days off between them)

  3. September 10, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Well done you! I struggle to do anything productive when sick, apart from reading. :-/ Hope you’re better soon! I’m so inspired by your ability to get words down in the midst of moving chaos! And I enjoyed the “race” despite not writing as I originally intended. Revision moving along (slower than I’d like, but so happy to be allowing myself to make changes 🙂

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      So do I, normally. In this case, though, my to do list is so long that I have to do something, and writing takes the least amount of moving around. And thanks. 🙂 Glad it’s working!!

  4. viklit said,

    September 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    I might join in one of these races sometime if that’s okay!

    Getting over a cold myself – I hope you are better soon!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      Oooh yes, please do! These are the kinds of things that are always better the more people you can talk into participating!
      And thanks. Dayquil/nyquil work wonders, don’t they?! 😛

  5. September 15, 2012 at 2:15 pm

    i totally forgot to post anything about what i did with the race last week – so forgetful. love this idea as weekends are easy to slip into sloth-mode. will look for racing prompts and throw out some of my own. every little bit helps!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      September 15, 2012 at 10:23 pm

      Thinking one from next Weds-Saturday. Will put it in Monday’s post. 😛 Exactly. Even if we don’t get much more done than we otherwise would, it prods us. 😛


Leave a Reply

