August 27 #Writemotivation

1. Write at least something every day– This week was fail at this. We got wrapped up in condo stuff, didn’t keep up on this.
2. If the move happens this month: Find a job.-Move is apparently this weekend, floor is being sealed this week. BUT no job yet. Boo.
3.Keep up on crits– Did wonderful on this. Had 2 things to crit, a poetry collection for one friend, a novel on the high level crits (not line level edits, but flow/pace/characters/etc level stuff) for another. Have some stuff to look over on Kt’s TDP to do next, but still within a reasonable time frame. (Yeah, more like I have to be able to NOT just get sucked into reading it. It’s hazard of that story. I go in to mark spots for one thing, and next thing you know, I’m caught up in the story and it takes 10x longer because I have to keep backing up to where I got sucked in to do what I was supposed to be doing!)
4.Keep up on Coursera class-Just watching the videos on the units I’m interested in. Not submitting essays anymore.

This week was a bit of a mad house. Was playing email tag with a potential job on Monday, so that blew Monday’s schedule. Tuesday I had an interview, then came home and zonked out. When I woke up, my allergies were kicking my butt so hard, I was too dizzy to go drive to Philly and hang out with a friend for his birthday (Boo!). Wednesday, D had jammed the washer at the condo, and what E’s dad said would take “Just an hour or so” ended up me being stuck there most of the day. As in left before lunch time, got back around 630pm and hadn’t had anything to eat. Thursday, I don’t even know why I didn’t get any writing done. I didn’t. Friday I never quite shook that groggy feeling. Saturday and Sunday were more trips to the condo hauling stuff that always seem to take longer than they should. Plus there was water coming up from the floorboards that they had to figure out where it was coming from, turned out to be a leaky valve in the wall that goes with the sink. So they’ll be switching that section of floorboards out, but that can be done later.

On the plus side, it’s almost a new month, and we’re about 1/4 moved in already despite the flooring issues. Originally, they didn’t make the wood floor sealed, which meant anything that dripped would get between the boards and damage the flooring. Needless to say, in a house of 3 klutzoids, that’s not going to fly. But I’ve already taken over the majority of the kitchen stuff, and once the floors are sealed, I can take over the air mattress and our clothes in no time flat. I still need to put the closet shelving together and figure out the heights on the bookshelves. We’re going for 6 shelves (plus the floor, though stuffed animals will likely go there and the highest shelf, as we sorta forgot to plan places for those.) and they’re ~3 or 4 paperbacks deep. So PLENTY of room for books, given as about 95% of our reading is on kindles these days anyway.

So a new week, new month, new place, new everything seems like.
My goals for next month are simple:
1. Get a job. -Self explanatory
2. Keep trying on my writing plan- I’m still adjusting it to reflect what’s really doable vs ideals, but when it works, it works well.
3. Keep up on crits.

Simple goals, but ones I should be able to achieve given the craziness it promises to be. September is really when I start prepping for Nano. It’s a habit leftover from my ML days. This should be very, very fun this year. I get to meet a whole new nano crowd!! And I’m pretty sure I’m going to do the Hunt rewrite for Nano, though if something else catches fire, I’m not going to argue it.

Are you ready for September? Ready for November too? 🙂 WHOOT! Let’s rock!

2 Comments

  1. abigailkern said,

    August 28, 2012 at 1:26 pm

    Did I already leave a comment? I don’t know. My computer won’t work. Regardless, have some flaming zombie dino cookies!! They’re delicious, plus I got granulated honey to make cookies with…

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      August 28, 2012 at 9:47 pm

      LOL Nope. And yay for cookies! 😀 Mmmm… I’m currently obsessed with molasses cookies. So sinfully fantastic!


Leave a Reply

