Wednesday Ramble

No rant this week. I’m writing this on a grey, rainy morning with a bit of a bookhangover from the partial ARC of the Archived. I adore autoapproved arcs on netgalley, even more so when they’re ones I cannot wait to read, and this one just… It’s making the time between now and January when it actually comes out feel very, very long. Because I now really, REALLY, REALLY want it to be January just so I can read this book. I mean, there are other amazing books between now and then. There’s Raven Boys, the launch party for which is just up the road from E’s parents’ house, and a straight 2 hour hop up the road from the condo. There’s The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There, Baba Yaga’s Daughter and Other Tales of the Old Races, Ashes of Honor, all of which I’m going to devour as soon as I get my hands on them.
Not to mention the 27 books on my to read shelf that aren’t even dated yet, but just say sometime in 2013, and the 50+ books already on my TBR list for next year that have dates already. (You see why I read as fast and as copiously as I do. My TBR list would quickly drown me otherwise)

And somewhere, among the hundreds of books, next year or the next or the next, books by my wonderful writing partners. Despite everything, I have faith in their novels finding homes. There’s always setbacks. It’s part of the territory. Rejections suck, but we can’t avoid them forever. In much the same way as readers, there’s no way for agents or editors to fall in love with every book that comes across their radar. It might not be this book, no matter how well written it is. It might not be the right time in their perception of the market for it. It might have a personal pet peeve in it that taints how they read it. They might only skim it, and miss something critical. They might read it on a day where they’re frustrated and caffeine deprived and just want to hit the wine and the pillows. You can’t control any of that, so it feels frightening and overwhelming.

But all it takes is for it to get in front of the RIGHT agent or editor. They’re out there. Don’t let it get you down. Unless every agent, every editor in the US has said no. Then self-pub. Until then? Don’t give up. You can do this. Work on something else. Read or reread something you adore. Remind yourself why you write. What is it about writing that gets you excited, that you just want to scream it from the rooftops? You have that fire, or you wouldn’t have even started writing. Find it again, and embrace it.

(This pep talk brought to you by too much navel gazing spawned by a complex, complicated, and delicious book.)

4 Comments

  1. August 15, 2012 at 10:24 am

    i love pep talks spawned by navel gazing. i approve. 🙂

  2. abigailkern said,

    August 15, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement. I needed a pep talk right now, because I’m nearing the end of my final draft (before red pen editing). It’s getting scary. 🙂

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      August 15, 2012 at 10:38 pm

      Whoohoo! I’m strange, I love the red pen stage. The scary part is opening up the critted versions! I hate seeing the blast of red comment boxes!! (Even though I know it’s mostly right, and will strengthen the story. Just the initial “This will never be DONE!” gutpunch of those is overwhelming sometimes.


Leave a Reply

