Book Rave Friday: The Curiosities by Maggie Stiefvater, Tessa Gratton, and Brenna Yovanoff

Now we start getting into the fun things: ARCs.

When we went to BEA, there were exactly two things that were fixed points in our schedule. First thing in the morning, go find the booth Victoria Schwab was signing at and get in line immediately. And after lunch, get in the line for the Curiosities. We ended up being fifth and sixth in line for Victoria’s signing, and ended up WAAAAAAAAAAY in the back half of the line for ARCs/signing of The Curiosities. In fact, we ended up standing in front of a Hello Kitty merchandise booth most of the way down the next aisle over. One of the women manning the booth was like, “What’s this line for?”. I immediately launched into telling her all about the “Merry Sisters of Fate”, and what hilarious, funny, and generally amazing people and writers the three authors are. Next thing you know, she’s joining us in line, excitedly chattering along with the people around us too. (Word of mouth in action, people!!). I was very amused. Not only did Maggie remember us from an event we went to in Austin (Em’s wheelchair makes her stand out, and so people remembering us isn’t that unusual, but it’s still nice!!), but Tessa remembered my crit partner from a Kansas City writers thingy that I’m spacing on the name of (OWFI?), which amused me to no end. Their memories rock!

This is a book that, I don’t care how much you love your ereader, you should get in paper format. I think it’d be hard for the doodles/comments to translate as well to ereader formatting without losing a lot of the details. (Though I haven’t seen the ebook version yet, obviously, so that’s conjecture on my part.)

As a writer, it’s both entertaining and very useful to see the kinds of things these three amazingly talented writers say about each story, and then to read the story with all the notes. A lot of the comments reminded me of things my crit partners and I have said to each other at various points. I also went through, and, without looking at who the author was on each story, tried to guess. Because all three have such distinct voices, and approaches, it was surprisingly easy most of the time, though they tricked me some too.

It’s just such a fun romp through their playground, that even though I’d read many of the stories on their group blog, I found myself drawn in, laughing aloud, in public… Which I never, ever do. It’s
This is the kind of book that is at one time easy to explain and impossible. On the surface, it’s a bunch of short stories with comments (often funny, often insightful) in the margins, and lots, and lots of doodles. This is a book that, I don’t care how much you love your ereader, you must get in paper format. Seriously. As a writer, it’s both entertaining and very useful to see the kinds of things these three amazingly talented writers say about each story, and then to read the story with all the notes. A lot of the comments reminded me of things my crit partners and I have said to each other at various points. I also went through, and, without looking at who the author was on each story, tried to guess. Because all three have such distinct voices, and approaches, it was surprisingly easy most of the time.

It’s just such a fun romp through their playground, that even though I’d read many of the stories on their group blog, I found myself drawn in, laughing aloud. I highly recommend this one, not just to people who like their writing, but to writers as a whole. There’s a lot of craft you can pick out, and because these are quick short stories, you can really see how they write, before all the polish of edits is applied.

Leave a Reply

