Spaghetti with lamb meatballs

This is one of those meals that is so simple, yet the small twists to your standard makes it amazing. Seriously, we ate until we were stuffed, and still wanted more!

Spaghetti with lamb meatballs

Put a large pot of water on to boil, add ~6 Tablespoons salt to the water.
While that boils, make the sauce.
Spaghetti sauce: I cheat.
1 jar spaghetti sauce, any kind you like.
2 12 oz cans diced tomatoes
1 tablespoon minced garlic
1 tablespoon italian seasoning
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/2 cup red wine (I generally use Cabernet sauvignon, but any dry red works. I often use whatever’s handy)

Put all that in medium sauce pan, heat on medium until the water for the pasta boils. Add ~ 1lb box of pasta (You’ll have leftovers on purpose, this is even better, if that’s possible, the next day!)
Now the fun part. Once you add the spaghetti into the boiling water, it’s meatball time!

Lamb meatballs
1 lb ground lamb
1 tablespoon itallian seasoning
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes

Mix the seasoning into the lamb, trying not to mush it all up too bad. I usually just open the container, take out the little paper liner on the bottom, dump the spices in, and mix it with my hands. Then break off palm sized chunks, and roll them into meatballs. Drop those into a good, nonstick skillet. I actually used my new paella pan that E’s mom got me for winter holidays, and just gave me recently. I noticed the teflon on it was similar in texture to my happy Calphalon pan that’s currently imprisoned in the back of the garage (and I miss. *Sniffles*), so I gave it a try. If you don’t use coated pans, these will tend to stick badly, so I’d suggest a well treated cast iron skillet in that case.

Sear the meatballs off on high, shaking the pan to roll everyone around. Once they get a bit of color, drop them into your pot of sauce.
I know, it’s a bit odd. Trust me. Do it.

If you’ve timed it right, they should be in the simmering spaghetti sauce for ~3 minutes before your pasta is done. Drain your pasta, leave just a touch of pasta water in the pot (it helps the sauce cling) turn off the burners, and pour the sauce pan into the pasta. Your meatballs should be a nice medium rare-medium, which is where you want lamb, frankly.

Wait a second, I hear you screaming! Normally, if you do that, the pasta drinks up all the sauce, and you end up with dry spaghetti leftovers. But in this case, I swear to you, it’s OKAY! There’s more sauce than the pasta will be able to soak up even in the leftovers.

Scoop it into your bowls, sprinkle with parmesan cheese, and a bit of chopped, fresh basil (I wasn’t going out in the rain for it. I’ll take a better picture next time, with it), and sit down with another glass of that wine. Nom!!

Leave a Reply

