Book Rant Wednesday: 50 F’ing shades, by that one author.

I went in initially knowing nothing about it except that it was being hyped as propelling erotica into the mainstream. So of course, I wanted to check it out. I used to read a lot of erotica and romance, and used to write it some too, so I downloaded the sample, to see what the fuss was about. I’m glad I didn’t waste my money.

I don’t get the hype. It’s 89% Twilight FANFIC. Granted, she’s only (that we know of) plagiarizing herself, but it’s STILL FANFIC. Fanfic has a place, certainly. Under another name, I wrote fanfic over a decade, and that’s what led me down this writing rabbit hole in the first place. But the rules back then were clear: You don’t profit off it, it’s only for fun, or you risk lawsuits. Hell, in the fandom I was in, big name fans got cease and desist letters from the studio, because their websites were on hosts that had ads, and so they thought the BNFs were making money off their sites. Seriously. (No legal action ever actually went to court as far as I know, but still).

Add to that, there are SO MANY romance/erotica authors out there who write better prose, and hotter sex scenes. JR Ward, Aislinn Kerry, Elisabeth Drake/Alina Morgan (Same person, two different pen names), Sherilyn Kenyon, just to name a few off the top of my head. Romance has been around as long as stories have been told (What is the Illiad except a love story with a war?), and erotica quickly followed. So for all these people to go on like it’s the best thing and so fresh and new? I have a hint for you: OPEN YOUR DAMNED EYES! Walk in your local book store, or poke around your favorite online book supplier, and you’ll find millions of romance/erotica books. One of them is bound to, erm, tickle you pink.

Yes, it’s good that people are reading, and talking about books, and about sex, but… Catch up with the rest of us, will you?

3 Comments

  1. July 18, 2012 at 9:39 am

    DING DING DING DING DING!!!!

  2. thebnc said,

    July 19, 2012 at 12:04 pm

    I’m just going to leave this link right here:

    http://jenniferarmintrout.blogspot.com/p/jen-reads-50-shades-of-grey.html

    It’s a chapter-by-chapter recap of the book, and she’s currently working her way through book two. It’s hilarious. It’s also a very useful tool for seeing what doesn’t work about the book and the relationship. (Without having to, you know, actually read the book. And after reading her recap, I’m pretty sure I would chuck it against the wall eight chapters in.)

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      July 19, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      I saw that, and about died laughing! Yeah, the whole thing seems to be glorifying a destructive, emotionally abusive relationship… just like Twillight. 😛 (Seriously, it’s been a subject of much feministic teethgnashing in circles of mine for years, even before Grey hit the scene)


Leave a Reply

