#Writemotivation Monday goalcheck/Writing Advice?

1. Finish SW- Simmering. It will get done, just needed to figure out what’s up with something on it.

2.Keep up on crit- None to do, yet. Probably nothing to crit until next month, actually. That’s okay. I can wait. *twiddles thumbs*

3.Outline Printed- This is going well. Got my worldbuilding set, the basic plot down, just need to figure out the twists and turn spots. The tech world building makes my brain feel carbonated, which is always fun. There’s a lot to figure out, because one of my pet peeves is when the science does NOT work. I mean, I’m all in favor of a plausible handwave, but when it’s not even plausible, it annoys me. I’m not doing hard scifi, but I still want the world to feel like there’s more than handwaving occurring. This leads to me doing things like researching population densities (Did you know, ignoring Washington, DC, New Jersey is the most densely populated state in the US?), design psychology, compositions of asteroids, etc. It’s also really fun to say, ok, here’s a problem. What technologies are currently in use that could be applied to it? Things that were scifi back in the 60s and 70s (instant communication no matter where you were?) is now reality (cell phones), and even considered indispensable by a lot of the population. It’s only going to happen more and more. Outlined the first section, up to where I normally put a twist, and need to figure out what this twist is. I love twists, but I hate coming up with them. Must brainstorm with KT and E about it when they have time.

4. Condo? Maybe? Hopefully? Pretty please, universe?- No idea on this, E’s dad was out of town almost all week (He was back for like 2 days before heading out again), and her mom was crazy busy with her work, so I haven’t gotten a status report lately.

Other than that, I’ve been thinking about writing advice. You can’t swing a plot bunny without getting advice, often well meaning. Some of it, like how EVERYONE, including published authors, even Big Name Authors, feel insecure sometimes, and wonder if they’ll do their projects justice. Victoria Schwab had a lovely post on the doubts, and how sometimes she deals with them. Her dots method is similar to what I’ve been doing in recent projects, and it seems to be working better for me than most things I’ve tried.

Last week, I was having trouble with SW. I’d open the chapter I’m working on, and I would just stare at it. I knew what was supposed to happen next, and had about half the visuals of how it was supposed to happen, but it wasn’t lining up. I’d tab over to something else, and spend hours “cat vacuuming” and procrastinating. And I thought, I want to work on something else, but I can’t. At which point, I shook my head, and went, says who? Just because E and KT are already reading it doesn’t mean I have to keep working on it when it’s not there. Too many years of people telling me I only had to work on one project at a time put that block in my head.

It’s a plot level problem I’m running into, and I know distance will solve this. The twist I thought of isn’t really working for me, and I need to figure out how to either MAKE it work, or another twist that will work in there. The dots aren’t making the right pattern, and when I’m in the middle of it, I can’t see what the pattern is even supposed to be. So I have to get out of it, enough to see the pattern again.

Oh! Question: I’ve been thinking what else to add here, and I’m thinking recipes and book reviews. Any thoughts? Preferences? Requests? Objections? Bueller?

4 Comments

  1. June 19, 2012 at 9:51 am

    I think I do the dots in my head…haven’t figured out how to get them out, on paper, BEFORE I start writing.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      June 19, 2012 at 12:43 pm

      Not everyone can do that. For me, if I get them on the paper before, it saves my rewriting the whole thing because the ending turned out to be a completely different story than what it started out as.

  2. Becca said,

    June 19, 2012 at 12:01 pm

    It’s good you’re giving yourself that distance – it’s so easy for us to pressure ourselves into a corner and burn out. I know you’ll find the perfect way to make it work!

    And I vote yes to recipes and book reviews! I like both!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      June 19, 2012 at 12:44 pm

      *laughs* Eventually. XD And awesome. My theory: As long as at least one of the people reading this thing wants it, I’m game to try it, anyway. (Must remember to actually MEASURE ingredients while trying this!)


Leave a Reply

