#Writemotivation Goalcheck

So even though it’s not an official goalcheck month, I’m doing it anyway. It keeps me accountable, and I like that.

1. Finish SW- I had the most brilliant lightbulb moment last night. It’s utterly evil, and slightly twisted, and KT and E are going to scream when they reach the points I spent a good chunk of my writing time tonight sorting out. 34816 so far on the project total, ~5k of that so far this month, not counting Monday proper yet. 1k less than I want to be, but I’ll take it. Still roughly on pace for Camp Nano. I’m just going to keep writing as best as I can. KT gave me a deadline on this one, and then she gets to rip into edits on it.
2.Keep up on crit- I should have crit to do by July at worst, possibly earlier.
3.Outline Printed- Not started yet. Later this month.
4. Condo? Maybe? Hopefully? Pretty please, universe?- Appliances are supposed to be in there today. YAY! They just have to install them, and flooring, and painting, and knowing my luck, a dozen other things. But I’m going to start job hunting on the assumption that we’ll be in by July 1.

I’m also super excited this week, because E and I are going to BEA on Thursday!! I’m bringing cookies for Victoria Schwab, because she’s awesome, and I’m looking forward to meeting her. Like, seriously. I love that when I told Victoria I was going (after months of debating), she got excited. That totally made my night. I expected more of an “Oh, cool, see you there” kind of reaction, not “Dude, yay!! That would be awesome!!!”. It sorta broke my brain, because erm, yeah. Not used to authors being excited to meet me, I’m far more accustomed to it being the other way around. (And while I’d adore if I can get my grubby paws on one of her arcs of the Archived, because have you SEEN the cover on that yet? WANTS!, she’s not planning on having a stack there, so I doubt this is likely)

Also looking forward to seeing Maggie Stiefvater again (and hopefully snagging an arc of The Raven Boys, because it sounds AMAZING and I don’t want to wait til September!), and meeting Tessa Gratton, and possibly meeting Laura Anne Gilman if I can spot her in the crowds. All of whom I’ve chatted online with to varying degrees, so this should be awesome! One of these days, I’ll be awesome enough to join their ranks, and meanwhile, I’ll write, and network, and make friends, so when I DO have a book published, I won’t be so intimidated to be among them.

2 Comments

  1. veschwab said,

    June 4, 2012 at 8:34 am

    One might think me prone to an overuse of exclamation points, but it’s not true! I’m really excited you got to come!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      June 4, 2012 at 9:05 am

      LOL I can tell!! It just sorta broke my brain. šŸ˜€ Though exclamation points do like being overused and abused around me too, some days. Mostly after too much caffeine. šŸ˜‰ ā¤


Leave a Reply

