#Writemotivation check in and a call for crit

Happy Memorial day! Go enjoy a BBQ or something!
Quick version:
1. Keep on edits on TH- Going to rewrite after I finish SW.
2. Decide if it gets to be queried or not: Not.
3. Keep up with critiques- None needed this week, again. Did have some chapters, but only reading for pleasure, not crit. Was absorbed enough in my own writing to not seek any extra critting out right now either.
4. Work on turning SW into novel form from script- Up to ch 15, and 28k! I’m so loving this story. I’d share a snippet, but I’m still working on it, and I hate jinxing myself. 😛 I’ve averaged a chapter a day, though usually half of one chapter, half of the next. Still, I’m really happy at this speed. I’m only aiming for about 2k a day, but some days I get more, some less. I’m trying not to call it a night until I hit 2k, though some nights my eyelids win that argument!

All in all, I’d call that a success.
Goals for June: June is a WRITING MONTH

1. Finish SW- Word count goal for total project ~80k, but this is flexible. If I finish early, I’ll start doing my edits early.
2.Keep up on crit- Not expecting to have much to crit in June either, but I might by the later part of the month, if I’m lucky.
3.Outline Printed- this one doesn’t abbreviate well,and I don’t think the title alone tells anything I don’t want to reveal yet. It’s not going to get written til November, but I want to start figuring out the plot now. Scifi YA.
4. Condo? Maybe? Hopefully? Pretty please, universe?

Oh, I have a bit of a scheme for my writing schedule now. The way I’m scheduling my writing, and seems to be working: I’m taking 2 months to write, another month to edit, repeat. On the down side, this method is rather time consuming. It’s staggered, so the first round gets a file to crit in July/start of August. Second round will get that same story in November (ew, that sucks, overlapping nano/holidays. May give that one extra time.). Third gets them next February. Novel will be “done”, in theory, at the end of April. So it basically takes a year for each story, but I’ll have up to 4 novels each “year” that way.

But while each round of edits is going on, I’m writing another story. So they’ll have 2 months to crit, a month of peace and quiet, and then something else to crit. Hopefully that won’t burn anyone out!! Once I get this rolling, on my edit months, I’ll have 3 projects to do. That sounds worse than it is though, because I’m pretty efficient when it comes to incorporating feedback. Short of things that need heavy rewrites, I shouldn’t have too much trouble pulling this off.

Round 1- There’s typos, awkward sentences and overwrought descriptions. They’re ok to point out, but I’m more interested in Does it Work overall. Line edits are rather wasted at this point, as some stories will be put back through rewrites after this point. You can do it, but it’s not what I’m mainly looking for. Any scenes that you feel drag, meander, or are confusing/pointless should get noted. I’ll have set questions (will probably vary by story) of things to look for, like “Do you relate to the main character? If no, why do you think that is?” and such. I specifically want at least 2 more people on this pass, who can look at the big picture and be blunt and honest with me if the story works or not. Some stories will not go past this round the first time through.

Round 2-Detail oriented pass. Here’s where the bulk of the line edits should be. Really focused on catching any grammar/spelling/awkwardnesses. I think I have this area covered with the terrific twitter trio (KT, Jai, and Becca).

Round 3- Last set of eyes, should be sparkly by this point. More reading than critting should occur, unless I’ve screwed something up. Catch any stray things that got missed. I would love 3 more people for this round, and if possible, eyes that aren’t on the other rounds.

So, anyone insane enough to sign up for this? I will crit in return, of course, and if we’re ever in the same city, I have no qualms about bribing with fresh baked bread or other treats.

4 Comments

  1. K.T. Hanna said,

    May 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    You know I already jump at the chance to crit for you, so we’re good there. I’m really enjoying the story so far 😀

    So proud of you!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 28, 2012 at 5:51 pm

      *laughs* Well, duh. 😛 I mean, come on. If I ever wrote something and DIDN’T immediately show it to you, I think I’d probably freak out and have no idea what to do with myself. XD And glad you’re liking it! ❤

  2. May 30, 2012 at 8:36 am

    You’ve got me down….I just know it! 😀
    So happy to have met you! And you are awesome! Thanks for cheering me on!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 30, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      Of course! You, Becca, KT, and Em are already slotted in. It’s more in case any of the other #writemotivation people pop in and are interested. 🙂 And aww! Thank you! ❤


Leave a Reply

