Happy birthday to me!

Just a quick post, as I’m not actually here. It’s my birthday. Yes, my real birthday. I’m now the age I first remember my mom being.

ACK!

Though frankly, my mother was 29 and holding for a good span of years, so I’m not actually sure I remember the year she was FIRST 29, or one of the following years. But it’s the age I always associated with being Grown Up.

Am I grown up? Well, sorta. Kinda. When I has 2 b. 😛

Compared to how I was at 23, definitely. My life is much calmer. Much happier. Are there days I’m still tempted to go be crazy and wild? Sure! But I also like curling up with my sweetie, reading a book or three, and just relaxing too. Friday nights are no longer a siren call to the nearest bar. At best, they’re a margarita at Chili’s with my best friend. Or now, a video chat with her, and margaritas. 😛

Life right now is in flux. I moved earlier this year, and between one thing and another, I’m not settled in yet. I’ve been in moving purgatory. I’m going to start job hunting as soon as I know when I’m actually going to be moved into the condo, and thus, actually in Philly instead of an hour and a half away in Princeton.

But I’m also writing, editing, cheering on my friends, trying new things, and generally having fun. E and her mom have a surprise in store for me, though it’s next weekend. I have suspicions it involves a trip over to NYC and possibly some sort of show, though it’s anyone’s guess as to which one. I have a weakness for Broadway musicals, as do they, so we try to get to them whenever we have an excuse. Also, E has a horrible poker face, which is how I’ve figured out this much of the plan.

Tonight, Italian food at a wonderful local place and cake. Whoot!!

What do you like to do for your birthday?

2 Comments

  1. May 17, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Happy Birthday!

    My birthday is in August. Growing up in the military, most of my friends were gone for summer vacations, or lived so far away from me it was impossible to have a proper celebration. So now it’s just another day. (although, secretly, I would love to be spoiled just once)

    I never thought I would say I would be “holding at” a particular number, but 42 is such an AWESOME number, I think that might be it for me. 🙂 It is the answer to life, the universe, and everything….

  2. May 17, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    ha! jamie, that is a good number to stop at. i should do the same. i’m one ahead of you. my birthday is during the week of thanksgiving so everyone is always spending time with family. that used to bug me growing up, but now it’s perfect. and i have a new tradition i call “birthday week” where my husband is at my beck and call for seven days.not a bad gift, really.


Leave a Reply

