The Ash-born Boy and The Near Witch

THE NEAR WITCH caught my attention originally with the utterly gorgeous cover. I mean, look at that thing. It’s haunting, ethereal, and just gorgeous!

the Near Witch cover

I proceeded to pop over and buy the ebook immediately. Her style caught me. It was ephemeral, and it suited the tale so perfectly. It grew on me even more the second time I read it. I very, rarely reread books, but this one begged for it. After rereading it, I looked up Victoria on twitter, just on impulse, and now I’m a definite fan. She’s funny, down to earth, geeky, and just one of those people I’d normally be friends with. So when she asked for people to post about the paperback release of THE NEAR WITCH and the accompanying short story “The Ash-Born Boy”, I volunteered without hesitation.

Not only does THE NEAR WITCH by Victoria Schwab come out in paperback TODAY, but, to celebrate its release, “The Ash-Born Boy” is finally up over at Disney*Hyperion’s website! What IS “The Ash-Born Boy”?  It’s a free story Victoria wrote as a thank-you to her fans, and she wrote it to answer ONE question: “Who was Cole before he came to Near?”

Now, if you’ve already read THE NEAR WITCH, “The Ash-Born Boy” is guaranteed to change the way you see Cole. If you haven’t read THE NEAR WITCH yet, don’t worry, “The Ash-Born Boy” won’t spoil anything! If you’d rather wait and read THE NEAR WITCH first, that’s okay too! Cole’s story will stay up on Disney*Hyperion’s website, and if it ever comes down, Victoria will carve out a space for it on her own site. It will always be available somewhere, and it will always be free. As soon as the story went up, I immediately dropped what I was doing, and ran to read it. You’ll want to do the same, trust me.

AshBornBoy logoCole’s story isn’t the only goodie to go along with the paperback release. In the back of the paperback itself, you’ll find the first chapter of Victoria’s new book, THE ARCHIVED, which doesn’t come out until January 22 of next year! From what I’ve seen on her blog of it? I already know I’m going to love it. As in, the minute I found out the expected date, it immediately went on my books to grab on release date calendar to make sure I grab it THAT day.

I especially recommend all my writing friends read it, specifically because she does that haunting, longing style so well. I was picking aspects apart the other night, trying to figure out how to create such a haunting feeling for a dream sequence in SW, and my English BA trained brain could only boggle at it. She has a serious talent, and is definitely an author to watch! So what are you still doing here? Go grab some cookies, and then go read!

2 Comments

  1. May 15, 2012 at 6:23 am

    Ok, so now I have to add one more book to my TBR pile…ugh! I’ll never catch up! LOL

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 15, 2012 at 8:34 am

      LOL Trust me. You want to read this one. After you read it, go back and STUDY it. You’ll be amazed how much you can apply to your own writing by doing that.


Leave a Reply

