#Writemotivation Halfway through the month!!

1. Keep on edits on TH- Got my feedback I’d been waiting for, and they confirmed what my gut was telling me. Instead of my MC coming across as someone who takes the only chance she sees to save her world, no matter the cost, she’s coming across as selfish, self centered, and spoiled. It needs a pov change rewrite. I think getting in her head and writing it from her perspective will fix that. Did get some great compliments on my writing style, voice, and world building, which was very nice. ❤ again to KT and Becca for the help!

2. Decide if it gets to be queried or not: Not. And that’s okay.

3.Keep up with critiques-I have nothing to crit right now. I think this is going on my permanent #Writemotivation list, though, because I tend to get things to crit often enough that I need to prioritize it. I did, while doing #TheWritersVoice, crit a handful or two of the queries/first 250s who had requested it. If anyone else wants feedback on those, the offer still stands. Heck, even if you’re not doing TWV, if you have a query you’d like critiqued, I’ll give you whatever feedback I can.

4.Work on turning SW into novel form from script- Up to ch 4. Slowed down on that chapter, because it’s one of the spots I need to insert certain things that were exclusively visual for the script (quick cuts, rotoscoped images). It, obviously, can’t be done the same way in prose, so I changed how the same ends get accomplished. Just over 7k done, thus far. If I can’t get this chapter to cooperate, I might skip it for now and just move on to the next chapter, then come back to this one. Going to give it another shot today, we’ll see. I was up late studying Victoria Schwabb’s The Near Witch (More about that tomorrow, actually), trying to parse out how the hell she manages that tone without bogging down in irrelevant details!

Condo is now getting the walls framed (Yay!) and the cabinets are ready for installing, but the lifts we’re having installed to raise/lower the kitchen sink/stove are apparently on a backorder through the place they were going to get them, so we’re trying to see where we can get them faster. This is going to be a completely epic place when it’s all done though. Wall oven, gas range, double width whirlpool bathtub, a bath floor with built in heater (no freezing tile!)… It’s the waiting that’s driving us all nuts. I’ve arranged our room and the living room already, down to the details of where I can stash the printer and still be able to get to the scanner. I wonder if I can get the draft of SW done before the condo is ready? 🙂 “So what did you do while you were waiting for the condo to be done?” “Wrote a novel, edited a different one, and did critique for 2 writing partners,” would sound pretty good for a job interview, I think. At least, it sounds better than “Played on the internet and ate oreos”.

Ok, writing time. Whoot! #AmWriting, #AmMotivated.

4 Comments

  1. May 14, 2012 at 8:58 am

    Your effort is amazing and inspiring. I can’t think of anything better to do while waiting for a condo.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 14, 2012 at 10:14 pm

      Thank you! I learned in college, I don’t do well with having too much time to goof off. Nothing gets done!

  2. Fiona said,

    May 14, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Sounds like you’re doing fantastically! Keep going, and I hope your week continues to be just as productive as this!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 14, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      Thank you!! I did manage to finish ch 4, though I’m definitely missing a transition between the two scenes. Minor details. 😛


Leave a Reply

