May Motivation (#writemotivation)

So out of curiosity, I looked at midnight to see what the stats were for the A-Z challenge. I was horrid about commenting on them all, but thank you all for the comments. Makes me feel less like I’m shouting into the wind!

My most popular posts: C is for Cookie and Nanowrimo.

My least popular posts: X-ing Out and Motivation rather ironically, as the most popular twitter thing I DO is #writemotivation.

Which segues perfectly into my planned post!

I have, I think, doable goals for this round of #Writemotivation.

1. Finish Keep on edits on TH.- First pass is already done. Need beta feedback, incorporating that, and then hashing out any sticking points with KT. This pends on others getting back to me, though, so I am modifying it slightly from what I originally submitted. I will count this successful as long as at the end of the month, I have gone through whatever feedback I’ve managed to gather, and edited based on that.

2. Decide if it gets to be queried or not: If yes, query.– I have never queried a novel. I’ve only once sent out a short story (which was picked up the only place I sent it to, and I pulled after 3 years because it wasn’t selling). This is utterly frightening. But I’m trying to be objective about this story. And I already know who I’m sending it to first. 😉

3. Keep up with critiques.- I have one that’s a first read, one that’s just making sure that the tweaks she’s making do what they’re supposed to. Not bad at all. I maaaay be persuaded to do more crits, after these are done. If it sounds like something I want to read.

4. Work on turning SW into novel form from script.– SW was a Script Frenzy project of mine several years ago. E read it then, and loved it. I set it aside, and didn’t go back to it. A couple of weeks ago, I was looking at it again, and the strangest thing happened. I actually still liked it! Normally, I read my old projects, and either cringe or shrug, at best. This one has a lot of humor, could definitely be a YA novel, and with a little work, could very easily be something I’d be proud to query. If I don’t query TH, I’m writing this one out and querying it instead. Even if I do query TH, I’m still novelizing this one. I did the first chapter, and E and KT both adored it. That says something, as KT normally dislikes most of the first person styles that I like to read. So when she actually likes it, that means it’s good. 😛 I’m more excited about this story than I have been in ages. I’m not setting a specific word or chapter count for this month, as I want this done right rather than fast.

May promises to be an interesting month. Several things, offline, are up in the air. There’s at least 2 days where I know I’m going to be out of the house most of the day. If I’m lucky, the stupid condo will be done. Pretty please, universe? I want my writing corner!

Are you #Writemotivation-ated yet? Get motivated! Get it DONE!

6 Comments

  1. May 1, 2012 at 8:49 am

    Good luck with #writemotivation this round – sounds like you’re trying to do as much as I am, lol!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 1, 2012 at 8:54 am

      *laughs* Thanks. I dunno, your list seems more intimidating to me!!

  2. May 1, 2012 at 8:54 am

    You got this girl! So cheering you (and everyone else) on! ❤ & hugs! 😀

  3. May 1, 2012 at 7:00 pm

    good luck with your goals. we will rock this #writemotivation.

  4. jocelynrish said,

    May 5, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    I have a few Script Frenzy scripts I want to do something with eventually, and a NaNo novel I think would make a MUCH better script. I especially liked the part about wanting to do it right, not fast. My original goal was to finish my novel rewrite, but then I realized that would be rushing things, so now I just want to make solid forward progress.

    Wishing you a very productive #writemotivation month,
    Jocelyn

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      May 5, 2012 at 2:53 pm

      Thanks! 🙂 I’ve only actually succeeded at Script Frenzy once, something always seems to interfere badly in April. This year, I was just focused on other projects and didn’t even start, oops! It saves more time, I think, in the long run to do certain stories more carefully. This one, particularly, is very layered, and needs to have a lot of description, which is an aspect I still fuss with balancing. I like taking the script and essentially having it be the skeleton of the novelized version.

      How are the rewrites on yours coming?


Leave a Reply

