Z is for zymosis

You’re probably thinking, what the heck is zymosis? zymosis is another term for fermentation. *watches all the lightbulbs click on* Yeah, I had to stretch to find a word for Z. It was either this or Zzzzz… which is what I really want to do right now. But as writers, sometimes we have to know how to choose between pushing through, and letting a project go through some zymosis. I often say a project is “On the back burner”, but I’m starting to like the idea of saying it’s fermenting. It’s in a Z status.
The other reason I liked this word for Z? As a writer, our word choices form our worlds. The Sami people (Not Eskimos) have hundreds of words for snow. While I don’t think most authors would ever have hundreds of words for any one thing, it’s imperative that the words you choose mean what you intend them to mean. You can create moods simply by your choice of words.

And yeah, I’m brain dead now.

It’s been a long month, in more than one way, but I’m curious. What did you think of these posts? Do you want me to keep posting every day? Twice a week? Whenever I have something to say? I’m thinking at some point, I might do this but with drabbles. Not right now, my brain can’t handle it, lol!

3 Comments

  1. April 30, 2012 at 11:03 am

    I like your post but daggum! I can’t fathom how you could do this! I’d have been fried around G! So, as for your post…whenever you got something to say! That’s how I do it. No need to beat yourself up over posting to a schedule, it may just diminish the message sometimes!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 30, 2012 at 1:41 pm

      That’s what I’m thinking. Doing #writemotivation in may anyway, so will at least do a weekly check in. I figure, not a whole lot of people read this anyway, so a lot of this was just to build up post count. 😛 And I cheated, I wrote a lot of them at once, ahead of time, and then scheduled them.

  2. jocelynrish said,

    April 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    I like the idea of letting our writing ferment. I always say I’m letting it rest, but I think fermentation (or zymosis) is better because our subconscious really is working on it without us.

    See, this was much more profound than another zombie post. 🙂

    Congrats on completing the A to Z challenge!
    Jocelyn


Leave a Reply

