T is for #Twitter

I’d heard about twitter when it was “that new thing with the character limit”. I brushed it off. Who wants to read that level of minutiae about people’s lives, I thought. Eventually, KT talked me into it, citing networking for writers and agents and such. I half rolled my eyes, and signed up.

It took a couple of months, but I am hooked. I love that I can interact with authors I love, without feeling pressured to be brilliant (self pressure, obviously), because who’s brilliant in 140 characters? Almost no one, except maybe Neil Gaiman. But he’s Neil effing Gaiman, so he’s allowed. I looked up some of the authors that I’d read, and as I’m interacting with them, half of me is saying “OMG this is so awesome, So-and-So is tweeting with me!!!!” in my best fangirl voice. The other half of me is saying, “Well, why wouldn’t they?”

Because, as usual, KT is right. It’s great for promotion. There’s one author, who will remain nameless so not to make her feel bad… But while I liked her book, it was sorta… Meh. Not horrible, not great, just a solid 2 1/2 stars on a scale of 1-5. There were things I’d liked about it, but there were things that bugged me too, and so I wasn’t going to bother, except she looked rather like an old friend of mine in her profile picture. So I was curious. As we chat intermittently, I find myself liking her, and by extension, her books, more. I’m actually going to get a physical copy, once we finish setting up the condo, for the purposes of getting her to sign it when she eventually has an event in my area. I would actually consider going out of my way, because she’s a really cool person. And I’m now looking forward to reading her next book, all because of twitter.

Thing is, she’s not the first author I’ve read because I liked what I saw of them online. Happens to me fairly often. If I like an author, I’m far more likely to spend money on them, because at that point, it’s about supporting their work. The opposite happens too, where I won’t read an author I otherwise liked, because of how they act online. Fortunately, that’s rare. Most authors, agents, and editors that I’ve interacted with are all wonderful, lovely people. It’s funny, but writing is the only art I know of where competition turns into camaraderie, and those who are above you (Bigger authors, agents, etc) are constantly doing things to help you out.

Do you like Twitter? Or is it all just too much noise?

2 Comments

  1. April 23, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Definitely, twitter has helped me in so many ways! I don’t think I could be where I am today without the company I keep! Had it not been for twitter, I would never have met such wonderful writing friends. I also have read authors based on what I’ve seen on twitter, too–be it good or bad…

  2. Deanna said,

    April 23, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    As a middle school educator and librarian, I do educational tweeting all the time. Love it! I think it helps to make groups so you don’t get overwhelmed with basic Twitter feed. One of my groups is Authors.


Leave a Reply

