Motivation

The writer who doesn’t write, when you strip away all the excuses, is a writer without motivation. Personally, I find it hard to get motivated sometimes, even when I want to write. There are so many shiny things on the internet, and one link leads to another, and next thing you know, half the day is gone. It’s a hazard, I tell you. And I know, it’s because I need motivation. I like deadlines. I like pressure. When I have no pressure, I have no push to get anything done.

And then KT started #Writemotivation. Even though I failed miserably at March’s goals, I accomplished other things that I wasn’t planning on, so I feel good about that. I blogged more than I expected, I chatted on twitter more than I otherwise would. I started editing my Nano. And I shared a short story that, while not new, hadn’t gotten released prior to this. Plus I critted for 2 new people, which is always good thing to do. While I crit for KT all the time, she’s been the only one I’ve bothered critting for some time. It’s always nice to get fresh meat new perspectives. So I’m quite happy with that.

What motivates you? What makes you put those words down, even on the dreary days when you just want to curl up with the video games and hot cocoa.

2 Comments

  1. April 14, 2012 at 9:24 am

    Green tea with lemon, or coffee, and some Mozart. Not to mention peace and quiet. 😀

  2. May 1, 2012 at 8:12 am

    […] least popular posts: X-ing Out and Motivation rather ironically, as the most popular twitter thing I DO is […]


Leave a Reply

