Love

Love makes the world go round. Love is a many splendored thing. Love is a battlefield. When it comes to love, people have a complex relationship with it. When you’re in love, it is the best thing on the planet. It makes the bad times better, and the good times amazing. It makes you feel complete.

When it’s not there, things just plain suck. Songs that otherwise you like suddenly piss you off, or make you cry at what you’ve lost.

When I was a little girl, my mom was a single mother, just trying to make ends meet. She had a few boyfriends, most of whom I didn’t approve of. I was a rather opinionated, strong minded kid, and in some ways, my mom was more like a big sister than a real mother. I remember seeing her crying in her room, when she thought I was asleep, after a fight with her boyfriend. I promised myself then, I’d never let anyone make me hurt like that.

Fast forward, and of course, like everyone, I did. I got my heart broken, and I broke my fair share of them too. And then I got lucky. I found someone through sheer serendipity who makes my life light up like a laser.

I have become a much happier, much calmer, far more patient person (Hey, KT, stop laughing!! And yes, I love you too!) than I was before, because of E. We have our frustrations sometimes, but we have our laughs too. There’s no one I’d rather curl up with every night.

You have to love it, to write. To craft the worlds, to let these characters run through your mind, to slave away at edits (ugh, edits! H should have been hate so I could complain about how much I HATE editing right now. AKA story that is going through the wringer). For everything, in writing, there has to be love.

Sometimes, I’ve fallen out of love with my writing. Sometimes, I get bored by it. Sometimes I try a fling with a different genre, a one night stand with a drabble or three. But I always go back to what I love most. Novels. E writes too, so she doesn’t mind me “cheating” on her with my writing. 😛

Do you love your writing? What keeps you going?

2 Comments

  1. April 13, 2012 at 11:36 am

    Yes, I love to write. The problem I’m having is that I’ve been writing articles for the last four years. I make enough to pay my bills, but I’m bored with it. I want to return to fiction writing, and that’s what I’m doing. My dream is to become a full-time fiction writer and move away from full-time article writing.

    Jolie du Pre
    Precious Monsters

  2. April 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

    Hello, Leigh! This is a wonderful post. You’re absolutely right that we have to love the writing, everything about it, even the daunting edits! What we put into it is what we get out it. Put in love and others will love it, too!

    “Love the writing, love the writing, love the writing…the rest will follow.” ~Jane Yolen

    Have a lovely weekend and happy A to Z!!


Leave a Reply

