Kindles

And other ereaders, of course.

Back in high school, I had gotten this little Franklin ebookman reader. It was clunky, had to dock to transfer files to it, and ran off AA batteries. It also lost all the files and the operating system every time those batteries died. Given as they only lasted a few hours at best, I quickly invested in rechargeables. It held all of maybe 20 books at a time. It was the first Ebook reader I got, and it was horrible.

I loved it. No longer stuck debating between finishing the book I was almost done with, vs bringing one I hadn’t started, for fear of running out of things to read. Only problem was, I ended up having to reinstall everything so often, I eventually gave up on it in frustration. The tech wasn’t there yet.

Fast forward to 2010. I packed a whole suitcase full of books on a trip to Hawaii for a family member’s wedding. E’s mom looked at our luggage when we got to the hotel, and asked if we were moving in. I laughed, reassured her that one of the suitcases was for books. Needless to say, that year for winter holidays, we got kindles.

I was a bit skeptical at first, given the ebookman. Granted, it had been most of a decade, so the tech had to improve, right? Luckily, it had. When we were getting ready to move, I looked at the physical books on our shelves, and winnowed so many of them out. I simply wasn’t reading in physical formats anymore, except for cookbooks and certain reference books. E’s the opposite. While she loves her kindle, she wants physical copies too. Mostly, I think, so the authors can autograph them. I get that, but I’m far more selective about what authors I’d want autographs from anyway. I just love the convenience of ebooks. I like being able to sit there, in my PJs, and grab the next book to read, without even having to get up, much less drive to the nearest book store.

What about you. Have you converted to ebooks yet? Or are they going to have to pry your physical copies from your cold, dead hands?

2 Comments

  1. thebnc said,

    April 12, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    I’ve converted to ebooks in part. I have a Kindle, which I love, and a Kindle app on my phone and tablet, which makes it easy to read books just about anywhere.

    However, I still love having physical copies of books, and my bookshelf is still overflowing. Just something about being able to hold a book in hand that I really like.

  2. April 13, 2012 at 11:33 am

    After I’m done reading a few of the A to Z blog posts, I’m moving into my half hour of reading novels or novellas – and all of my reading of novels or novellas is done on my Kindle Touch. My home is filled with print books, and that was fine for the 20th century, but we’re not in the 20th century anymore. I hate to break it to the people who have not embraced eBooks – eventually, in the 21st century, you’ll have to. Print books are dying. Amazon sells way more eBooks than they do print books. And that’s just going to continue. Authors who have never seen their name in print likely want a print book. But I’ve been there/done that. I’m fully onboard for the eBooks and I have no problem with the rest of my published fiction to be in eBook format. (My first novella will be available only in eBook.) Most of my royalty sales are from the eBook versions of my books – not the print versions. I won’t buy another print book. I buy all my books on my Kindle Touch. Yes, the technology of eBook readers is NOTHING like it used to be. So jump onboard or get left behind…

    Jolie du Pre
    Precious Monsters


Leave a Reply

