Friends

I am so, so lucky. I have some of the best friends in the world. We don’t all live near each other, and I don’t get to see some of them nearly as often as I wish I could. Some of them, I have yet to meet in person. But they’re like family, chosen family. Without them, I wouldn’t be who I am. I wouldn’t write, if it weren’t for the encouragement they give me. KT, R, E, L, and my grandmother, they all make me who I am. I couldn’t do it without them. Someday, when I actually get a novel published, my dedications will be to them. Those 5 people are the ones who have encouraged me all along. And I love them.

One of my friends got some awesome news last month, and that was followed by lots of suspense, and then more awesome news. And it makes me thrilled beyond words. Partially, because she’s wonderful and deserves every bit of happiness this world has to give her. Partially, because I had a little bit to do with one of them (can’t claim any credit on the other, lol!). And partially, because it reminds me that it CAN and DOES happen. And oddly? It takes more time, and less time, than you’d think sometimes. Ergh, I know I’m being vague, because she hasn’t announced it yet, so I’m not going to spill her beans. But trust me, both good news things are fantastic, and I’m over the moon thrilled for her.

But the SUSPENSE was murder. Waiting and waiting, and then getting a “Hey, still working on it, will let you know next week” lead to more waiting and waiting. All the while, I had an inkling that it was going to be good news, but I had no way to prove it, and I didn’t want to be wrong. And when it finally WAS good news, I think I was as happy for her as I would have been for myself with that news!

When your friends find happiness, do you get excited for them? Does the suspense while something’s in limbo drive you insane?

4 Comments

  1. April 6, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Whoooo hooooo! Friends are so awesome. I’ve been hard pressed to find friends. As a child I was moving every four years. So making (and keeping) friends was always difficult. As I got older, and started staying in one place longer and longer, I still found it hard to make and keep friends. Guess the whole “shyness” didn’t help along with still being associated with the military. Everyone moved away eventually, making it near impossible to really have any close friends.

    Now, with my life the way it is, I don’t go out much and don’t have any friends locally. They wouldn’t understand my predicament, and I just don’t want to burden people with it all. Plus, the older I get, the less I care to impress. I am who I am. If you don’t like me for who I am, I don’t need you. A lot of people are STILL stuck in the clique-ish crowd, I guess. And I *never* fit in with any of them.

    Luckily, I have the ‘net. While I am incredibly picky, I do think I’ve found at least one real friend on the net…with the hopes of a few more in the waiting. It’s just a matter of talking with them more I guess.

    Here’s hoping…

    And a resounding YES! and YES! I get so excited for my friends I just can’t contain it! But the suspense KILLS me! 😀

  2. Leigh Caroline said,

    April 6, 2012 at 4:38 pm

    I understand that one. I was always the nerdy child who didn’t get a lot of the things my “peers” were interested in. I agree, the internet has been a godsend when it came to making friends for me. And oddly? The confidence I gained from making friends online helped me make more friends offline. Most of my coworkers would never believe I’m shy, because I learned how to wear that confident mask so well.

    (And I’ve so been dancing around since last week singing “XXXX has an XXXX, XXXX has a XXXXX” and fill in the blanks with what you know goes there. :P)

  3. Kristin said,

    April 6, 2012 at 11:14 pm

    I have been truly blessed when it comes to the friends I have and I am thrilled beyond reason when they get good news.

    atozchallenge Dragondreamer’s Lair


Leave a Reply

