C is for Cookie

Cookie monster with hearts painted on his cookies

At first, I had C as Coaster. It has been recycled to R for Rollercoaster, because when I told E about the A-Z challenge, she said, horrified, “What, C isn’t for cookie?”. I busted up laughing. I have a bit of fixation on the Cookie Monster. It all started when I worked at a store that specializes in stuffed animals. There was a cookie monster one that left his blue fuzz EVERYWHERE. I’d go home with bits of cookie monster fuzz in my hair, in my shoes, in my shirt. But he grew on me, the longer I worked there. Eventually, he was phased out in favor of some other character.  But I had a cookie monster shirt, from the launch of Cookie, and so I kept wearing it. Everyone wanted it. It was just the eyes and mouth on a blue shirt, but it was constantly getting people’s attention. (I eventually, years later, replaced it with one of the same design that walmart carried. Mostly because poor Cookie’s eyes were crackled beyond repair)

So in honor of cookie monster, I  was going to give you one of my cookie recipes, until I realized, I don’t have the measurements for any of them. See, I’m really BAD at following recipes. I tend to eyeball most measurements, and just toss in whatever seems like a good idea at the time. I made chocolate ginger molasses cookies, most recently, that disappeared dangerously fast in my household.  It started out as these cookies, except I didn’t have chocolate chips in the house… so I put in lots of dark cocoa powder. Oh, and we were out of nutmeg, so I added chinese 5 spice. And we don’t use eggs in baking, so E can have them with her allergies, so I substituted egg replacer for those… And I’m fairly sure I changed other things, but heck if I know what.

They were dense, gooey, and very slightly under baked. Next time I’m baking them longer than the directions called for, at least in this oven. We’ll see in a month how my wall oven handles them.

Cookies always bribe me, when it comes to writing. And sometimes, my writing is like those cookies. Change one thing, and another, and another, and next thing you know, you’ve made something that is entirely different than what you set out to make. Sometimes that’s good, other times, not so much. It’s why I’ve learned to force myself to outline. As long as I have a recipe for the story, I don’t end up making granola out of what was supposed to be oatmeal cookies! (In my defense, they just would NOT stay together, and I wasn’t sure what else to do with them!), or an action novel out of what was supposed to be a romance, because I got bored and decided to make things explode (See 4 of my Nano novels).

How about you? Do you need a recipe? Or can you toss things together and end up with something fabulous?

7 Comments

  1. April 3, 2012 at 8:30 am

    Now I have that song stuck in my head! 😀

    Besides, it’s one of my theme songs for work (haven’t used it in a few years now, though since I’ve FINALLY trained people to spell things out! We’re not mind readers, you know!)

    But cookies are a definite must! Love how your writing works like your baking!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 3, 2012 at 10:43 am

      At a job I had in a call center, I used to ALWAYS get stuck spelling things out for people. So any time I was doing that, I’d say things like “C as in Cookie”. Only had one person in 3 1/2 years pick up on the reference. Sadness.
      And yes, cookies are a must! Nom!

  2. K.T. Hanna said,

    April 3, 2012 at 8:39 am

    *noms on cookies* You need to bake me some of those and send them to me! Or… white chocolate *cackles gleefully*

    I generally get a recipe and alter it however I feel like. 😀 That’s me!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 3, 2012 at 10:44 am

      I can do both! 🙂 White chocolate and macadamia nut? with coconut? 😛

  3. April 3, 2012 at 10:14 am

    C for Cookie! Best C word ever!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 3, 2012 at 10:45 am

      Any time I hear someone say “the C word”, my brain always goes to cookies. And then they look at me like I’m insane when I start laughing.

  4. April 3, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    I like to start with a recipe, but then I feel free to substitute ingredients. I guess it is like having the security of an outline with writing. Never thought about it that way before!


Leave a Reply

