Boredom

Like any teenager, I didn’t always like hanging out with my parents. Back then, granted, we got along better than we did once I became an adult, oddly. But the things they liked to do, I often found boring. Drink beer, while sitting by an artificial lake? BORING. Feeding the dolphins? BORING. Done that, the fish are slimy. Don’t care. Eww! Winning prizes in the game room? …Ok, that’s fun. I’ll do that.

I spent a great deal of my teenage years running around sea world and a six flags park. When you have season passes to these things, and later work at one, it somehow loses a lot of the excitement. You have to find ways to keep entertained. One of the ways we did this was to find entertainment within the entertainment.

So one day, my mom and I were running around Sea World, and one of us won this flamingo. Being the bored teenager I was, I decide to whip out my camera and start taking pictures of the flamingo as if it were a tourist. It stopped to call home, to grab a drink of water, to pose with the fake flamingos in the playground area. I even managed to sweet talk an employee into letting it pose on one of the kiddy rides.

Whenever I get bored, I think about things like that. Finding fun wherever you can. When I’ve had jobs that are soul sucking boring, I escape into a book when I could, or doing anything that makes the time go faster. And my friends will gladly tell you, a lot of my best stories start with “So, I was bored and…” and result in hilarity. Like the time I was bored and decided to paint my old landline phone (a corded, light blue monstrosity I hated) with the contents of a glow in the dark necklace. It glowed, for one night, before turning into just this highlighter yellowish green that makes the Nanowrimo ML shirts look pastel in comparison. Another fit of boredom covered that in fuzzy cat stickers. After which my mom looked at it, and finally agreed to get me a cordless one instead.

When I get bored with writing though, it’s harder, but still doable. I change stories, genres, pov, anything that will keep the words moving. Sometimes, I have to take a break, and reconnect. And sometimes, it helps to have other people kicking my butt, like #writemotivation and KT.

What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever done when bored? Obviously, leave out anything the statute of limitations isn’t up on yet. 😉

 

 

4 Comments

  1. April 2, 2012 at 12:23 pm

    I mowed my lawn, only to have my husband come home and tell me I forgot to lower the deck. He doesnt let me touch it anymore.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 3, 2012 at 10:46 am

      *laughs* At least yours was productive!

  2. Bethie said,

    April 2, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    In Jr. High my friend and I poured nail polish remover on a candle and set it on fire. We did it until the whole bottle of remover was burned. We both maganged to get out of it with our eyebrows intact, but I’m not sure how.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 3, 2012 at 10:46 am

      Wow! I would have set the whole house on fire! (I’m a klutz)


Leave a Reply

