A is for Authors

So, doing that A-Z challenge this month. Thought it sounded like fun.

If I’ve got the settings right, these posts should come on daily and autofeed an announcement over to twitter as well. Anyone have any preferences on what time? I have most of them set to either 1030am est or 130om est right now, but that’s easy enough to change.

I’ve been a voracious reader since I was 4. I write, and most of my friends now days are writers. I like it that way. There’s a lot to be said for increasing your writing skills by helping those around you. In fact, I know my writing has improved over the last few years mainly from helping my friends with edits on theirs, and from reading.

So I figured, I’ll use this post to point out a few favorite authors.

The ones to look out for:

These are people who are either not yet published, or only minimally so.

*KT Hanna– OK, I know I sing her praises a lot. She gets all blushy over it. But really? It’s warranted. Not only is she one of the most encouraging, sweet, and lovely people I’ve ever had the pleasure to know, she’s an amazing writer. She can bash out a draft of a 90k novel in 2 weeks, then take 2 months to edit it. She’s open to criticism and edits, and can explain why when she doesn’t want to change something. She creates characters who are lifelike, with flaws and strengths. Even after reading one of her novels repeatedly, with the rounds of edits we do, I STIlL get absorbed into the story.

*Becca Weston–I was lucky enough to meet Becca through #writemotivation. Another absolute sweet person, her sense of humor is fantastic! She needed a quick look over the first 10 or so pages of her draft, and though it was rather late in my day, I said, OK! I’m glad I did. I was hooked, ended up staying up well past my bed time, and when I got to the end of the section, about howled wanting more! Definitely another one to keep your eyes on. Her skill with description and the freshness of her concepts tells me she’s one to look out for!

Some of the big names I love:
*CE Murphy- Her characters and worldbuilding had me hooked from book one of the Walker Papers, and the more I’ve interacted with her, the more I’ve liked her.

*Maggie Stiefvater- OK, I admit. I started reading her books in the first place because she gives such great, and hilarious, writing advice on her blog. Once I read one, though, I was addicted. I’ve been known to drive to other cities that I normally wouldn’t even go to, just to go to events where she is. Her style, mainly, is the draw for me. I can get lost in her novels, savoring every word.

*Catheryne Valente-Another style maven. I blame SJ Tucker (more on her when I get to the music post) for my finding Cat, as they’ve interwoven Cat’s stories to Sooj’s music. When I found myself waking up, not with a song in my head, but with the spoken word pieces from Solace and Sorrow/The Orphan’s Tales, I knew I had to read them. Cat’s vocabulary in her writing is like a dictionary had sex with the most velvety chocolate possible. Smooth, rich, and complex, these are books I tend to languish over in the bath. Add to that stories that echo the fairy tales, not the sanitized modern version, but the darker, more raw forms of days gone by. There’s darkness, and light, and it weaves together so beautifully to create these tapestries.

I could go on for pages about authors. Who are some of your favorites?

4 Comments

  1. K.T. Hanna said,

    April 1, 2012 at 9:22 am


    I’m going to ignore the first bit of the post except to say – You should post earlier 😀

    I need to read more. My favourite author is Louise Cooper. Probably always will be. I ever re-read her series recently. And I’m still in love with it and the ending. The best ending ever. When you don’t know if good or evil wins? I like that stuff ❤

    Also – you're biased. You should have included yourself on that list.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

      I was debating what time of day was best, so figured I’d try a few different ones and see. I think I’ll set the rest to 8am EST.
      I’ll add her to the TBR list. 🙂
      And am not. 😛 I will once I actually finish edits to my satisfaction and pull a you. 😛

  2. Becca said,

    April 5, 2012 at 7:41 am

    You are too sweet, lady. K.T. sent this to me during my rough weekend this past Saturday and it really made my day. ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      April 5, 2012 at 8:41 am

      *hugs* Glad it helped. I like to think I have an eye for spotting good writing, and I’ve rarely been wrong.


Leave a Reply

