#WriteMotivation

AKA how the lovely KT talked me into joining the twitter…stuff.

Ok, I’ll admit. I resisted, mostly out of the same stubbornness that has kept me from dying my hair to cover the greys. I don’t find most people’s passing thoughts that interesting, nor do I think mine are either. It’s funny though. I find myself often so afraid that I’ll say something stupid that I say nothing at all. And then I realized: No one really cares that much. I’m not famous. I’m not really noteworthy yet, even.

So if I say anything stupid, the worst that can happen is people roll their eyes or laugh, and you know what? That’s okay. Not everything has to be perfect. Much like in writing, sometimes doing anything at all is better than nothing. And it’s about challenging myself to get out of my comfort zone. I realize, I talk to so few people anymore, and she has this lovely #writemotivation group going on since earlier this year. I’d watched mostly just to see what tended to happen, before finally jumping in this month. I have the time, since we’re still waiting on the condo to be finished, and I don’t really want to commute an hour each way for just any job.

I’ve been off the writing horse, except for Nano. Nano, for me, is a wild card any year, but 2011 more than usual. We were preparing for a cross country move, my little sister had a breakup with the girl she was living with, and moved in with me, and that lead to it’s own host of issues. The main one being, the room that served as a guest room in that small (950sq ft or so) apartment was also our study. And my little sister likes to sleep. And when she’s not asleep, she talks. She’s only 23, and a rather immature 23 at that, so a lot of times, it feels like she talks just because she can’t keep all her thoughts in her head at once. Really, I like her most of the time. She’s just 5 1/2 years younger than me, and sometimes it shows badly. This does not for a productive writing environment make!

Yet somehow, I hit 50k. I hit The End.

Granted, the story is bones right now. There’s precious little description, and since it’s a story that involves the Fae, there’s a lot of subtext that needs woven in tighter. But the overall structure on this one was the best I’ve managed on a novel yet, so I’m really happy with how it turned out.

Watching as KT is getting closer day by day to publication made me realize; It’s all about how you approach it.

Script frenzy and April Fools are coming up in a month. That gives me time to outline a story, write it in script form as an outline for SF, and novelize it for AF. It’s an experiment, but I think I have a story in mind that just might benefit from a nontraditional approach. It’s very visual, and right now, nebulous. I know what happens at the beginning, and what the end choice point will be, but the middle is… well, to call it a morass would do swamps a disfavor. Right now, it’s a blur. I know the elements I want, it’s a matter of fiddling with them until a wild plot gets caught in the trap created by them.

I’m trying to learn to write less pantsing, more plotting ahead. Scrivener helped a lot with that in Nano, so I’m attempting it again. We’ll see.

Meanwhile, I think I’ll reorganize this tonight, then work on the edits for KT’s lovely project!

I also want to do a short story and put up on here. I haven’t done any short stories in several years. I’m trying to get back in the habit, if for no other reason than simply playing with ideas.

We’ll see.

5 Comments

  1. March 4, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Awww – stop making me sound awesome. You’re awesomer ❤

    I'm so excited to see what you come up with in April. You owe me chapters.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 4, 2012 at 10:29 pm

      You are the most awesome. Seriously. And I do, I’m woefully behind on writing chapters for you! I love that you’re always so excited to read whatever crazy things I come up with!

  2. March 5, 2012 at 5:32 am

    I have yet to see anything stupid come from you! You are awesome! KT speaks highly of you! And I’m glad you joined twitter and #writemotivation so I could get to know you!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 5, 2012 at 9:21 am

      *laughs and blushes* Thank you. KT is rather biased, we’ve been writing together for ages, and she’s one of my best friends. Of course, she’s sung your praises too for many, many things. 🙂 She’s fond of praising people, I think it’s part of why she’s always making new friends. 🙂

  3. March 5, 2012 at 3:45 pm

    getting out of our comfort zone is always a good idea. it leads to fantastic things – otherwise we’d all be couch potatoes. good for you!


Leave a Reply

