#Writemotivation update 3/24

1. Read at least 5 published books. Ugh. 3. You’ll see why.
2. Count how many partials/finished MS are read for my internship. -counting slushpiles- 373. Most of that was queries, fulls/partials= 11. That slushpile= Why I’m not getting much of anywhere on my published reading. Granted, my main task is to take what they’ve decided and send the resulting email, either No or Send more. But I’m reading them over. Thus far there’s only been a few I’ve disagreed with and thought it should be send more that wasn’t. I have wiggle room for those to request them anyway, and see if maybe something is awesome enough to go “Oh, dude, you have to read this!”)
3. Finish a chapter of an in progress novel.-LOL No. But I’ve been working on world building something new.

*1 crit.

So yeah. Other me was helping with a BIG project that took up most of the last 2 weeks. Great experience, and I think Other me made a few friends in the process. It’s so strange, though, to have people looking at me like I have all the answers. I mean, I do, but mostly because I’ve been doing all this for a while. I started reading blogs about publishing back when I was working on my first novel, which was over a decade ago. I don’t know why you wouldn’t. This industry’s hard enough without reinventing the wheel. Give yourself every advantage you can, and with the sheer volume of knowledge freely available to you, there’s simple mistakes you just shouldn’t screw yourself by doing.

So for once, I’ve actually been able to stand watching a couple movies: Frozen and Catching Fire. Ok, I wasn’t JUST watching the movies, because let’s face it, I’d get fidgety in two seconds flat if I didn’t have something to do with my hands. But mostly paying attention while doing minor tasks on the computer like grocery shopping works for me. I can see why Frozen’s so popular. The music is catchy, and for once, most characters have complex motivations. Catching Fire was ok, but I wasn’t enthralled by it the way I was the first one. Not looking forward to the way it splits Mockingjay into 2 movies, that’s just moneygrabby. But I’ll probably watch it anyway. Just.. on DVD, not in theatres. (Granted, I prefer it. By the time you get to the theatre, park, it’s a bother, and tickets+concessions= the price of the DVD anyway.)

3 Comments

  1. March 24, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    That cool you have some wiggleroom in your job. Maybe you’ll find the next big blockbuster. ;)

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 26, 2014 at 6:40 pm

      Yeah. It helps that my boss is an artist, so he gets it. And I hope so!! I’ve been reading some really amazing things too, the bar is DEFINITELY set high!

  2. LadyJai said,

    March 27, 2014 at 2:29 pm

    I agree with you on the whole going to the movie house bit! :D I’d rather watch movies from the comfort of my PJs :D

    Isn’t it just wonderful when people come to you for answers?!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

