#Writemotivation, Communication, and OWM

So, new month, new goals, and a few changes.

February was a rough month all around for people. I was just busy. The busy isn’t a bad thing, don’t get me wrong. I prefer being busy. I’m more productive the more I have to do. It’s more that, when I’m busy, I feel less social. Others had it far worse, and I feel like I neglected people a lot in trying to juggle it all. So if you’re feeling ignored or neglected, *HUGS* first, and I’m sorry. Please poke me and say hi when you have a few minutes to chat, I have time for you.

And I’m not the only one busy, lately. Becca and KT are too, so we’re pausing OWM for this month (and possibly April as well) to give us all time to catch up. We’ll reevaluate it once we feel we have time to deal with it. I enjoy writing the stories and reading what they write, though, so don’t worry. Busy or not, I’m sure we’ll find a way to make it work. It just might mean a revised posting schedule or something. We’re working on it.

Meanwhile, March’s goals.
1. Read at least 5 published books. Stretch goal: 10 (My poor reading time is mostly eaten by internship things, and I’ve had trouble finishing books lately.) Still reading Grasshopper Jungle for the LGBT challenge, but I’ve mostly switched to Burning Obscura, it’s at least more clearly written. The style on Grasshopper Jungle is close to making it a DNF, but I want to finish it anyway. I’m half done. We’ll see.
2. Count how many partials/finished MS are read for my internship. (No stretch goal for this one, it relies too much on factors outside my control.)
3. Finish a chapter of an in progress novel.
I didn’t put walking on there anymore. There’s no point, I walk to work all the time. Same with Crits. I don’t anticipate having any to do this month, though that’s always subject to change if anyone has anything and asks. I CAN make room if you want.

<3

6 Comments

  1. MAJK said,

    March 4, 2014 at 6:57 am

    Busy, isn’t a bad thing and like you I feel more productive when I’ve got a lot to do. Unfortunately,sometimes i get a bit “over busy” as my friend puts it.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 4, 2014 at 7:24 am

      I do the same. The only semester in college I ever made the deans’ list (thanks to most of it spent majoring in biology) was the semester I had no free time. It keeps me from procrastinating. But you’re right, there’s a balance. Get too much going on and it’s easy to forget to breathe and relax. Next thing you know, you get a cold or something else that knocks you on your butt and you get even more behind because you’re sick!

  2. LadyJai said,

    March 4, 2014 at 12:53 pm

    Sometimes I wish I could just be a stay-at-home-mom. Then I would be able to focus on what I *want* to do a lot more than I do now. 40 hours a week freed up….now that’s what I’m talking about. But, alas, I must do what I need to do for my family. So…well, here I am…prioritizing the needs and the wants, which makes getting back into the swing of things makes it a bit more difficult than I want it to be. :)

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 4, 2014 at 7:48 pm

      Yeah. I know the feeling. Owen can’t really work either, but we’re lucky in that his parents can help. Though have you looked into the VA aid and attendance benefits? Ran across them at dayjob recently,not sure what the criteria are for it. Also, check with your local Social Services, they usually have programs for caretakers, which might help. *loves*

  3. heathercashman said,

    March 5, 2014 at 10:48 am

    Maybe for OWM you could have guest bloggers. Just an idea. Maybe organizing that would be just as difficult or time consuming as writing something.
    Let’s hope March brings us all what we need.
    I admire you for working so hard and the sacrifice you make for your families.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      March 5, 2014 at 7:55 pm

      I would totally be open to this idea, if we can find any. It’s mostly on Becca’s side right now that things are mayhem. KT and I seem to be keeping up okay, but since I also have some travel coming up next month, it makes sense to pause things while we get caught up with ourselves. <3 And psh, perk of being reasonably young and childfree. ;) Sentiment definitely appreciated though!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 385 other followers

