February 3 #Writemotivation update

1. Keep up the walking/crits/reading.- Worked on crits a bit Saturday, did more Sunday. Reading- Many partials for my internship, I’m behind on my reading of published stuff, need to dedicate more time to that. Walking’s a duh.
2. Finish the current set of projects for the internship.- Made a dent. I hate letting people know bad news, but I know the waiting is harder than no. (This was the majority of what I had to do this weekend, alas. But one is in the middle of being written up in a positive fashion, so there’s that!)
3. Write one chapter on a current project.- Will get to this hopefully next weekend.
4. Write my OWM story for next month and edit this month’s.-Will get to this next weekend whether I want to or not.

Plus I now have more testing at work to do for our in-house software. I enjoy it, I think ultimately I’d rather be on the tech side there than on the phone side. But that also involves me taking enough time to really learn proper coding instead of “Let me google the piece of code I need.”, so we’ll see if that ever actually happens. (Then again, why reinvent the wheel? It’s a dayjob, not my passion.)

I attempted to set aside 20 minutes a day to work on my own projects last month. It didn’t really work. Before work, I’m too busy getting things together for the day. After work, I make dinner, catch up on a few internet things, then spend whatever time’s left working on internship things. Lunch breaks are too distracted with coworkers to be really useful productive time too, and what time there is I tend to snag to read things for my internship. I need to find a happy balance.

Also, still doing my twist on the GLBT* challenge. This month, the discussion there centers around “Things I want to see (or see more of) in YA LGBT fiction.” Oh the rant I could go on for this. See, thing is? I’m not much for navel gazing in my novels, but that’s so often a large facet of GLBT novels. I deliberately, in my internship, have my eyes peeled for GLBT novels with PLOT. They have 50% of their letters in common, after all, they should be able to coexist! I want ones where yes, the characters are GLBTetc, and they act on/react to the attraction(s) they feel. But if they can do it while running from the rebels who are trying to kill them, or while plotting a heist, or while skydiving into a parallel universe or something? THAT I’ll be all over. If it can be integrated into the story in the same way a straight romance would? I’ll be singing the praises of that author right to an editor’s hands. Seriously. It doesn’t need to be a niche market, if it stops going “WAAAH I’M STRUGGLING WITH MY SEXUALITY” constantly.

Malinda Lo is one of the few authors I’ve seen do this and do it well. We need more of this. I buy her books even when I’ve read a library/loaned copy, on the grounds of declaring the market. I deliberately will prod a GLBT novel that looks otherwise less interesting, in hopes it might surprise me. This month’s GLBT read will be (if I get to it) Grasshopper Jungle. We’ll see. ;)

10 Comments

  1. February 3, 2014 at 8:42 am

    Looks like you’re already off to a good start on your goals.
    I can never write before work. I can’t get into the story because I’m afraid of losing track of time and then being late for work.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      February 3, 2014 at 6:22 pm

      Thanks! I had pretty good luck doing that when I didn’t have to leave quite so early, actually. I’d just set an extra alarm on my phone for whatever time I needed to get moving for work. That way, you don’t have to pay attention at all to what time it is. ;)

  2. February 4, 2014 at 5:18 pm

    I really should read something by Malinda Lo, right? Right. I’ve heard some great things about the Adaptation series recently so I think I’ll start with that one.

    Haha, I hear you! I want more PLOT too. I’ve read some good non-issue-y LGBT books I’d recommend though.
    The Culling by Steven dos Santos is a a lot like The Hunger Games. Hm. I think I actually prefer it to THG :) There is romance and the main character is gay, but it’s a total non issue.
    Proxy by Alex London is a dystopian retelling of The Whipping Boy with a gay MC. Being gay is not exactly a great thing in Proxy, but it has a PLOT, so… :)

    Good luck with your February goals!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      February 5, 2014 at 8:02 pm

      Adaptation itself was ok. I wasn’t interested enough to really bother with the sequel though. (I bought it anyway, but… that’s more because I want to vote with my pocketbook than any desire to read it). I did really enjoy her fairy tale retellings though! and excellent, I’ll check them out! Thanks! :D

  3. heathercashman said,

    February 4, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    You are so busy! I don’t know how you do it all, but you’re amazing. Good luck in February finding that balance.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      February 5, 2014 at 8:15 pm

      Thanks hon! Yeah, I mostly do it by 1. being hyper organized and 2. prioritizing. I’m experimenting this week, I figure if internship stuff takes longer than I’d like, well, it’s publishing, what do people expect? :P

  4. February 6, 2014 at 1:33 pm

    Good luck with those February goals and finding the balance you’re looking for! You can do this!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      February 7, 2014 at 6:17 pm

      Thanks! :D

  5. February 9, 2014 at 4:07 pm

    Not a bad start on your goals! Finding a balance is a very difficult thing. I personally find I’m more productive if I can set aside only a day or two each week with an hour or two each on those days than I am when I have a few minutes every day. Otherwise it seems like I always have to quit just as soon as I’m getting into the groove of writing/editing!

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      February 9, 2014 at 6:03 pm

      I used to be more like that, but I’ve found that I take far longer to get moving when I have hours to do it in. If I have only a few minutes, I have to let the words go whether they’re the right ones or not, and then fix it in edits. It’s definitely a balancing act though, because I also hate having to stop right when the story gets to a good place! I’ll freely admit, I’m a strange duck. When I had nothing to do (I’d moved cross country and was stuck waiting on our place to be finished), I actually got less done than while working full time!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

