January 13 #Writemotivation update

1. Walk, keep up on crits, read at least 15 books- STRETCH GOAL: 20 books!- Walked. Crits: 1 Books finished this month so far: 1 unpublished, 2 published. Going to finish another one tomorrow, hopefully a couple more this week. With the dayjob being unusually busy lately, it’s cramped my reading speed.

(Many others started but not finished reading for the internship. Tis the life of slush!).

Loving the internship, thus far. I’m not QUITE busy enough yet with it, though, so if anyone has things they want looked over/critted, especially broad stroke crits, let me know. I can basically stop reading the submissions at any point, if I don’t like them, which is nice. I’ll give every book at least 25%. If it can’t catch my interest in 25%, it’s not well written enough. Frankly, well written trumps basically every other aspect when you’re talking agents. It’s absolutely key to making all the other things work. Bear in mind, an agent wants you for the long haul. They might work with you over 2, 3, even 5 books before you ever GET a book published. They have to feel your writing is worth the effort. There’s a lot of “Not quites” happening. I swear there must be some gems waiting though!

2. Finish up January’s OWM story and pick my next prompt. STRETCH GOAL: Work on that prompt too!: My January story went up Friday. I still need to pick my prompt for the next batch. We’ll see. My offline BFF gave me an idea tonight, but it might be too silly. Which… I might do on purpose, just to see what happens.

3. Get another chapter written or revised in one of my active projects. STRETCH GOAL: 2 chapters.
Nope, still.

7 Comments

  1. LadyJai said,

    January 14, 2014 at 10:08 am

    I vote “SILLY”!! DO IT! :)
    <3

    Glad you're enjoying your intern!

  2. January 14, 2014 at 10:35 am

    Hey, you’re doing great! :) And, in my opinion, you’ve read tons. It takes me forever to finish a book (I read too many at a time, I think). Keep up the good work! *waves pom poms in face*

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      January 14, 2014 at 6:23 pm

      Thanks! I actually managed, between unpublished and published books, to get to 175 books last year. So halfway through a month, I normally have at least 5 done. But thanks! I definitely push myself harder than others would to get everything done I want to. I find the busier I am, the more I get done!

  3. January 14, 2014 at 11:40 pm

    I LOVE YOU! That is all. Well not really all, but I talk to you every day anyhu. I thought I’d leave proof of my regard IN WRITING <3

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      January 15, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      *laughs* Love you too, silly woman. *glomps* People, if you can’t tell by now, KT is such a darling best friend. We really do talk constantly, like multiple times a day. I talk to her more than almost anyone else in my life, and I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  4. heathercashman said,

    January 16, 2014 at 8:55 am

    I was so excited to hear about the internship from KT! And I love the way you do your goals, with stretch goals attached. That’s brilliant! Maybe I will be one of those gems in the future. I hope hope hope.

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      January 16, 2014 at 7:40 pm

      Thank you! I figured, I wasn’t sure how much time would be taken up with the internship (I’d prefer more, but there’s only so many times I’ll flat out say “You can give me more work. Seriously. What else do you have?” before I just shrug and refocus my efforts.) And hopefully!! If you ever want feedback, feel free to shoot an email over! I should warn you, I’m rather harsh with crit, but better to have it constructive and helpful than just a “no thanks, not for me” email later!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 342 other followers

