January 8 #Writemotivation update

We will pretend I have any concept of time this week.
(and that I’d paid attention when posting this and actually given it the title. Fixed!)
1. Walk, keep up on crits, read at least 15 books- STRETCH GOAL: 20 books!- Walked, all month thus far, except last Friday when I called in due to ice. Crits: Done one, and already a bunch of things for the new internship. I’ve started… oh, about 7 books since the new year. Haven’t finished any of them. I blame my internship, except not really. I’m just being a picky reader, so hopefully I’ll have time to really settle into a book this weekend. Books finished this month so far: 0.

2. Finish up January’s OWM story and pick my next prompt. STRETCH GOAL: Work on that prompt too!: I need to polish. Prompt for the next round=Not yet picked, but I’m looking.

3. Get another chapter written or revised in one of my active projects. STRETCH GOAL: 2 chapters.
*laughs* No.

So far, this month doesn’t look good goal wise, but it’s been nice in some respects. I’ve started the new internship and I’m really enjoying it. Basically, I’m wading through her slush. She started with a few from a quick “Pitch me” session, and I’m reading the requests right now looking for awesome writing. That’s REALLY the key thing. She likes diverse enough genres and styles that it’s ultimately about the quality of the writing. There’s one I’m currently on the fence about… On one hand, there are glaring flaws, on the other, there’s something that makes me want to read more. So I’m giving it a full read, even though I’ve been given permission to stop wherever I feel like in these. It’s a gut level instinct, but I think 10+ years of writing, and another year involved in publishing, plus ~27 years of reading like a maniac has honed that feeling. I hate sending the rejections, but I’m trying to include some kind of feedback with every single one, so that way at least they gain some insight. Honestly, I’d probably be willing to give much more in detail crits if I had the time right now, but juggling so many things means I focus on the biggest aspects (plot, pacing, style, characters) and don’t really go into any details. I’m half tempted to note on my alternate twitter profile (seriously, if you want to figure out who I am, it’s not really hard. At all), to mention that, but I don’t want to open the door for everyone in their brother to ask for it. But… Let me put it this way. If I HAVE TIME, I will always elaborate if asked kindly. I apologize in advance if ever anyone asks for help and I can’t accommodate it. It’s not you. It’s the sheer volume of work.

Which makes me want to grump about people and timeliness and the crucialness of setting realistic expectations and goals. It’s a joke in publishing, that “4-6 weeks” means about triple that, but it’s a problem. I am making this a commitment, both to anyone out there and to myself. When, someday, I get a real job in publishing, I will do my best to set realistic turnaround times, as far as it’s ever in my control. Realistically, shit happens. But it shouldn’t be a recurring pattern, and I will follow Scotty’s law. Add 30% of the time you expect it will take, and then double it, tell them that.

Anyway, I have submissions to read and an alarm set too early in my morning. Goodnight all. <3

2 Comments

  1. January 9, 2014 at 12:46 pm

    So happy you’re enjoying your new internship! I totally get the “not enough time” issue. <3 Just remember, one word is progress :D

    • Leigh Caroline said,

      January 9, 2014 at 6:42 pm

      Thank you! And yeah, it’s more about setting aside some time to work on them among the onslaught of other things demanding my attention. Which is, of course, why it’s on the list. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 378 other followers

